We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creme de la Creme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Creme de la Creme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I wanted to personally thank you for a wonderful time at your hotel. Upon arrival they had me reserved for a king sized bed (I had reserved 2 queens) and Jennifer swiftly took over from the male trainee and remedied the situation. My spa experience was the best I've ever had, every one from Sam to Martha to Sue and last but not least Priya! Priya literally gave me the best massage I've ever had and I have had a lot! Thank you very much for the wine and cheese upon arrival, a very nice touch. Every bit of room service we had was divine, as well as breakfast at Schooners.

Room Tip: On the water, do a spa treatment for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcpingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,202
    647
    178
    88
    40
See reviews for
1,173
1,923
114
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The staff was amazing! When the bride's bouquet was delivered, a bellman ran it immediately to the room. The spa staff brought us strawberries! Out room had a balcony and bay windows overlooking the Bay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is an excellent hotel. We had a four day trip planned up the coast and one of the stops was Monterey. We decided on the Plaza Hotel & Spa because of the location, never having stayed there. We could not have picked a better location. On top of that the staff, accomondations, and everything else was above expectations. On our last stop we went to SF at which time we noticed one bag did not make it with us. It got missed at the Bell Desk. The management staff more than made up for it by sending a dedicated driver the 2.5 hours to deliever the bag to us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was a quick getaway for my wife and I, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is beautiful and within walking distance to other restaurants, the fabulous Monterey Aquarium, and other activities. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The room was overlooking the bay and low enough to hear the waves gently lapping on the rocks below. Watching the birds and some of the marine creatures feeding in the mornings was such a magnificent sight.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra to get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We struggled to find sutiable accomdoation in Montery , and chanced upon this hotel. It looks very grand and we were nervous that it would be very expensive. Not so we found the front desk very helpful and they had a choice of room types and prices for us to choose from. We settled on a huge twin bedded room more than big enough for all 4 of us. The hotel has 2 good restaurants, better still its on the seafront, close to the aquarium and a cycle hire shop. Staff from porters to car valets and waiters were genuinely freindly and efficient, and we didnt feel we were being hassled for a tip.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms at the front desk and ask about the pricing options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBanditt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a great review of our property. The fact that you came to stay with us simply by chance and yet we met and exceeded your evey expectation makes me very proud. From the service of our staff to the room itself, I'm very pleased that found our standard of quality accommodating. Thank you again for choosing the Monterey Plaza Hotel & spa and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President / General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is a beautiful hotel and location but the facilities are frustrating. For example, there are not enough areas for residents to sit and relax outside and using the Schooners restaurant is a complete pain. Why? Lunchtime - was completely full of outside visitors resulting in residents being denied entrance just to have a beer and there are no others options in the hotel for this. This evening all we wanted was a coffee at 7.30 pm. Most of the tables were empty but on one would serve us unless we checked in at a reception desk. Why as a resident do I have to check in with someone at a hotel bar at the hotel I'm staying in?? A real shame!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
I would like to apologize for this guest's frustration and dissatisfaction with our facilities during their stay. It is our intention to treat all guests of the Monterey Plaza Hotel, both hotel residents and local customers, with the up most professionalism and quality service. I apologize for this guest's inconvenience of having to check in with our hostess but we have this sytem setup so we can control the inside and outside flow of our business. I would also like to inform our readers of other options available at our hotel. Along with Schooners Bistro we also have a full service lobby bar, which is open on Friday's and Saturday's from 5pm to 9pm. We also have our Cafe La Strada which serves Peet's Coffee and is available directly adjacent to the Plaza. I'm terribly sorry that this guest was not informed or aware of these alternatives during their stay. I would also like to take the time to state we here at the Monterey Plaza Hotel embrace our local community and welcome them to come join in our events, such as this past summer's Concerts on the Bay free concert series and the upcoming Cocktail College being held every 3rd Thursday of the month. Again, I'm truly sorry we did not meet this guest's expectations of quality service.

Sincerely

John V. Narigi
Vice President / General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

On checkin noticed a yoga class scheduled for Saturday morning. So glad I made it to class. David is an enjoyable instructor and the hour passed quickly. Much to my delight I discovered David was also a massage therapist at the hotels spa. If you stay here and have the time book a massage with him. It was one of the best massages I have ever received. My only disappointment was no yoga on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing