We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five Star Experience thanks to Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The beauty of this hotel and the setting are matched only by the wonderful staff. In particular, the young lady at the front desk "Nani" and her supervisor went out of their way to insure that our stay was an absolute pleasure. This is a beautiful hotel in a magnificent location, but it was the staff's kindness that made this one of the best vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: The rooms with Monterey Bay views cost more, obviously, but they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Ron,

Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read you had one of your best vacations ever. I am pleased to share your feedback with Nani and the Front Office team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,002 - 3,008 of 5,275 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went to Monterey Plaza Hotel for a quick Valentines get away, From the Valet's who literally run to greet you at your car, to the excellent staff (Myrna especially) at front desk, to Antoinette in the spa, to the service at Schooners and the excellent steak and lobster dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed our selves and would recommend to anyone. The location is so close to everything too! We upgraded to an ocean view room and just loved it! Could people and ocean watch all day! Thanks to all for a memorable time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your generous five-star review and celebrating Valentine’s Day at Monterey Plaza Hotel &Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel. I look forward to sharing your review with Antoinette, Myrna and the entire Plaza team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for Valentine's day was very refreshing! Their beds are to die for, and the breakfast delicious and not too expensive. Plus it was included (Bed & Breakfast package).
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte_Francisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I just had the pleasure of staying at the Monetery Plaza Hotel and Spa. From the moment you walk in to the moment you check out, the staff welcomes you with open arms, assists you with everything from local recommendations and directions.
But the highest complement I can give them, is their compassion. While there, I took ill and was unable to get to a pharmacy to obtain medication. The staff went above and beyond and was able to send a bellman to pick up my medication (over the counter) at the local CVS and deliver to my room in record time. They could not have been nicer or more understanding.
While there I also had a spa treatment, a facial that I highly recommend. I'm still glowing.
Thank you again everyone - it was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. I go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojom1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. The greatest compliments we can receive highlight the exceptional guest service by our associates. In addition, I am pleased you enjoyed your treatments at Vista Blue Spa. I hope you are feeling better and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel in chilly Monterey Bay was a Valentine's treat for the entire family. Our cool stay was relaxing and the services at the Monterey Plaza Hotel are second to none. At the front, eager employees await your arrival and greet you with a friendly smile and want to get you checked in as quickly as possible. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Night time service is always available for a motherly prepared bed but instead of chocolate milk you get nice chocolate bars. The employees extend their gratitude and are willing to make your stay an eventful as well as a memorable one. Saturday featured an intimate concert at the main lobby for good entertainment nestled by a warm fire off to the side. I really enjoyed staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank hmariscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel a few times now and just love staying here. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.The hotel is located right on the water on Cannery Row in Monterey. It is just about two blocks from the aquarium yet still quiet and peaceful enough. This is one of our first choices whenever we come down to the Carmel/Monterey area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuffd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here during Pebble Beach Pro Am. Hotel was busy, it was so amazing that the employees were as nice as they were. Everyone we came in contact with made our experience memorable because of their consideration. We had a fabulous experience, the room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. Cant wait to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank desederata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. We take great pride in providing personalized guest service and appreciate your comments. I am elated you had a memorable experience. We hope you’ll return in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £162 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing