We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for one or two night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for one or two night break”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Monterey plaza overnight. Beautiful location and lots of space on the property. Included valet parking is nice as well. Hot tub and spa on the roof is nice and relaxing and also included with the rate. Rooms are nice but beds are way too soft. Overall impression of the hotel: good location but I would expect more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,372
    700
    190
    95
    43
See reviews for
1,261
2,011
122
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We never had to leave our room as we had the best view in Monterey. We had room service every night and could watch the ocean and wild life without having to get dressed up. The view was amazing and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The beauty of this hotel and the setting are matched only by the wonderful staff. In particular, the young lady at the front desk "Nani" and her supervisor went out of their way to insure that our stay was an absolute pleasure. This is a beautiful hotel in a magnificent location, but it was the staff's kindness that made this one of the best vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: The rooms with Monterey Bay views cost more, obviously, but they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read you had one of your best vacations ever. I am pleased to share your feedback with Nani and the Front Office team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went to Monterey Plaza Hotel for a quick Valentines get away, From the Valet's who literally run to greet you at your car, to the excellent staff (Myrna especially) at front desk, to Antoinette in the spa, to the service at Schooners and the excellent steak and lobster dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed our selves and would recommend to anyone. The location is so close to everything too! We upgraded to an ocean view room and just loved it! Could people and ocean watch all day! Thanks to all for a memorable time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your generous five-star review and celebrating Valentine’s Day at Monterey Plaza Hotel &Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel. I look forward to sharing your review with Antoinette, Myrna and the entire Plaza team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for Valentine's day was very refreshing! Their beds are to die for, and the breakfast delicious and not too expensive. Plus it was included (Bed & Breakfast package).
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte_Francisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I just had the pleasure of staying at the Monetery Plaza Hotel and Spa. From the moment you walk in to the moment you check out, the staff welcomes you with open arms, assists you with everything from local recommendations and directions.
But the highest complement I can give them, is their compassion. While there, I took ill and was unable to get to a pharmacy to obtain medication. The staff went above and beyond and was able to send a bellman to pick up my medication (over the counter) at the local CVS and deliver to my room in record time. They could not have been nicer or more understanding.
While there I also had a spa treatment, a facial that I highly recommend. I'm still glowing.
Thank you again everyone - it was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. I go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojom1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. The greatest compliments we can receive highlight the exceptional guest service by our associates. In addition, I am pleased you enjoyed your treatments at Vista Blue Spa. I hope you are feeling better and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel in chilly Monterey Bay was a Valentine's treat for the entire family. Our cool stay was relaxing and the services at the Monterey Plaza Hotel are second to none. At the front, eager employees await your arrival and greet you with a friendly smile and want to get you checked in as quickly as possible. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Night time service is always available for a motherly prepared bed but instead of chocolate milk you get nice chocolate bars. The employees extend their gratitude and are willing to make your stay an eventful as well as a memorable one. Saturday featured an intimate concert at the main lobby for good entertainment nestled by a warm fire off to the side. I really enjoyed staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hmariscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing