We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Hotel and Service”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 7 days at this hotel and service was outstanding. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Everything was first class in this operation. The hotel was located near Fisherman's Wharf and near many downtown attractions including the Monterey Aquarium. Meals at the hotel are a little pricey but that is to be expected in this area. Overall experience was excellent and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your outstanding review regarding your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased to read you enjoyed our central location and found the service outstanding. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,583
    751
    212
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,364
2,146
130
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times, and I do love it. Great views, an INCREDIBLE staff, and a very nice hotel.

The only thing that went wrong was when we were checking out, we had stored our luggage, and one bag got loaded into another guests vehicle. Unfortunately it was a bag full of recently used workout clothes, so once it's returned, it should make for a very interesting aroma. The staff went above and beyond to make sure the items are returned, and they were extremely apologetic about the mistake. It's a frustration, but not big enough to take away from an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMillertyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The monterey plaza hotel was a great getaway with my two teacher friends. We stayed two nights on a Monday and Tuesday, I had a king-size ocean front room with balcony and they have an adjoining oceanfront room with No balcony. Room 2323 was the king and room 2325 was the two queens. Wonderful sounds of waves crashing throughout the day and night and sea lions chatting and otters bobbing up and down were great sounds to hear in the morning. Binoculars were provided to Lookout to the beautiful views. Would have preferred an oceanfront in another building to get more of a vast view because to the left of us was another part of the building that blocked any southern views.
Chose to go up to the hot tub at around 4 o'clock one afternoon. Absolutely gorgeous day out, beautiful views and were the only ones there for quite a while.
Chart house right next door was a wonderful dinner and also fantastic view!

Room Tip: Choose to have a room over near the schooners building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Monterey plaza overnight. Beautiful location and lots of space on the property. Included valet parking is nice as well. Hot tub and spa on the roof is nice and relaxing and also included with the rate. Rooms are nice but beds are way too soft. Overall impression of the hotel: good location but I would expect more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We never had to leave our room as we had the best view in Monterey. We had room service every night and could watch the ocean and wild life without having to get dressed up. The view was amazing and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The beauty of this hotel and the setting are matched only by the wonderful staff. In particular, the young lady at the front desk "Nani" and her supervisor went out of their way to insure that our stay was an absolute pleasure. This is a beautiful hotel in a magnificent location, but it was the staff's kindness that made this one of the best vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: The rooms with Monterey Bay views cost more, obviously, but they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read you had one of your best vacations ever. I am pleased to share your feedback with Nani and the Front Office team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went to Monterey Plaza Hotel for a quick Valentines get away, From the Valet's who literally run to greet you at your car, to the excellent staff (Myrna especially) at front desk, to Antoinette in the spa, to the service at Schooners and the excellent steak and lobster dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed our selves and would recommend to anyone. The location is so close to everything too! We upgraded to an ocean view room and just loved it! Could people and ocean watch all day! Thanks to all for a memorable time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your generous five-star review and celebrating Valentine’s Day at Monterey Plaza Hotel &Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel. I look forward to sharing your review with Antoinette, Myrna and the entire Plaza team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing