We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights here while traveling up the coastal highway with my husband and 2 daughters. The service at the hotel was the best I have ever experienced. Fabulous Hotel. I hope to be back there some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go4ulcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,774 - 2,780 of 5,139 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I spent two nights at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I originally booked an street-view room with a king size bed and a balcony. Upon checking in I mentioned that if an ocean-view room was available to let me know. 10 minutes after getting into our room I received a call from the front desk letting me know that not only was an ocean-view room with a balcony available, they were willing to give it to us at a significant discount. 2 minutes after that, a bellhop arrived at our room, moved our bags for us, and we were in our new room with unbelievable views!

And the experience only got better from there...

EVERYONE in the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. Not only were they willing to go out of their way to find answers to our questions or make our stay more comfortable, they would remember us, address us by name, ask how our day was, follow up on whatever it was we were asking them about, etc. My girlfriend and I found ourselves engaged in ongoing conversations with the friendly staff throughout our trip.

The accommodations were top-notch, the views were gorgeous, the hotel is conveniently located to plenty of nice areas and attractions around Monterey. Our stay was an all around great experience and I'd love to stay there again!

Room Tip: The ocean-view room is definitely worth it. Our room had a pair of binoculars which were pretty fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your review and praise regarding your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I’m glad that the comforts of the room and the personalized service made for such a wonderful experience. We hope to create another memorable experience for you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel &Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Friendliest staff at a hotel we have seen in a long time. Beautiful setting and well kept. Only suggestion would be for them to have bar service to the piano lounge area on the main floor. Oh... and the most amazingly comfortable bedding ever. Made it hard to come home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 653jillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fabulous - in all regards! Walk into your room, look out and see the OCEAN?? OMG!! Its scary gorgeous -- you can't go wrong -
and, these people will negotiate price, so don't be shy. Its $$$, and worth it, but if you get an off week, they'll work with you. Room, bed, bath, view, amenities.- ALL First class. No complaints anywhere here, except ONE - we left for church at 10, by 3:30 room was STILL not made up.
By the time they came it was time for turndown and chocolate. We said, leave the chocolate, we'll turn down our own bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed there for my birthday and had a wonderful time. It is a beautiful spaciously laid out hotel on the water with topnotch service. Everyone working there was very gracious - including all the check-in staff, restaurant workers, spa staff and therapists, housekeeping - everyone had a great attitude and provided great service. The food is delicious at Schooners and one can eat either indoors or outdoors. We enjoyed the very comfortable bedding, quick room service, and relaxing jacuzzi on top deck. Also, easy walking to town, wharf, down Cannery Row and to aquarium. Great way to celebrate a birthday!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieDZ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Maggie,

Thank you for your lovely review and celebrating your birthday at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Your comments and feedback are truly valued and I look forward to sharing them with the team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fabulous luxury hotel in a lovely location in Monterey, staff were very helpful and kindly upgraded us as it was our honeymoon. Excellent attention to detail with an amazing roof top spa overlooking the bay, with complimentary wine and cheese reception the day we were there. Beautiful outdoor area and coffee shop just above the very nice restaurant Schooners.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Monterey Plaza. Getting there late Sunday night, was a nice drive from San Francisco. Checking in was easy, we had a ocean view room that was spectacular. The concierge had no problem adjusting our dinner reservation across town, with easy to follow directions from the valet. The hotel wasn't totally booked, so I was a bit miffed when I came down to have breakfast at 11:05, and was told breakfast was over...and try a local spot. Having to call housekeeping to service our room, after being gone most of the day was a bit inconvenient.

The rest of the stay was an easy drive to Carmel, and lunch at Pebble Beach, Lodge was just what to expect, old fashioned elegance. Great place to stay, walking distance from Cannery Row...an easy jaunt over to Pt. Lobos for hiking.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the extra with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msw728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £202 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing