We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a perfect visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for a perfect visit!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

the staff at Monterey Plaza hotel and spa were amazing. my wife and I went for 1 night during our honeymoon and everything was perfect, from the location, the room, the food, and again, the staff. we were also provided strawberries dipped in chocolate, everyones favorite!

thank you to everyone at the Monterey Plaza!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,640
    768
    215
    100
    46
See reviews for
1,400
2,175
130
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful----Large open entry area, great patio overlooking Monterey Bay, and staff members everywhere wanting to assist you, direct you or answer questions. From the time you drive into the valet parking area to the time you enter the room, you will be greeted by the valet, the concierge, the front desk clerk and the bellman.

The hotel has some decent places to eat for a price----a Mai Tai is about $13, although it was an excellent Mai Tai. The food is pretty pricey.

Our room faced Cannery Row, and it was easy to observe the goings on of tourists and shopkeepers until well into the evening. The hotel is right in the middle of it all----walking distance to the Monterey Aquarium and all the sites along Cannery Row. Naturally you are a stones throw to the bay.

I would rate our room as just OK. I've seen many exactly like it at Marriott, Best Western, etc. I suspect they have much fancier rooms with the ocean views which are more worthy of the fanfare you get when you arrive, but we were staying in one of the more cheaper rooms.

In a nutshell, this is a great choice for the honeymooners or the folks where cost is no issue. For the budget traveler, there are other less expensive options that are still close to Monterey Bay and where you can enjoy the sites without going over budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Being from the East coast, a visit to the Monterey peninsula has been on my bucket list for many years. The Monterey Plaza did not disappoint. Even though it is on Cannery Row, we found the hotel very peaceful and subdued. Perhaps late June is not crowded due to damp, chilly weather. However, the weather was remarkably good. Our ocean view king room literally, was right over top the water. The room was quite spacious, by hotel standards. Don't think a balcony is necessary since there are lovely places to sit outside by the Cafe Strada, that have nice fire-pits. The room was elegantly decorated and very clean, especially the bathroom. I especially liked the vanity area outside the bathroom. What a plus! The only constructive comments I have are the tv and parking. The tv reception was pretty bad. The tv only offered standard definition, and some channels were very snowy. The hotel should move toward hi-def or satellite. The hotel only has valet parking. Though the valets were very nice, it was very cumbersome trying to get your vehicle. The valet area outside the lobby entrance is very tight, especially in the morning when guests are either checking out or getting ready to depart for the day. If you are returning in the afternoon, and going back out for the evening, it is easier to park on the street. Other than those two items, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was most professional and gracious. Comparative to what city hotels cost, this was an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend ocean view room, though balcony is not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

was a very nice place, rooms were quite good, service was very good also. not our usual level of accommodation, was very impressed with the views from our room, over the bay and the boat harbor. was an easy walk to the cannery area.

Room Tip: bay view is definitely worth it
See more room tips
Green Features: wasn't noticed that much, wasn't made obvious.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed in the Monterey area for a number of years. My wife and I have resisted staying by the downtown area because it seemed it would be noisy. We were so pleasantly surprised! Our room looked out over the ocean and we regularly saw seals, sea otters, and many types of sea birds.

The staff was helpful and courteous. We really couldn't have asked for more. You will want to ask if they have any package plans when booking. Great place to go to relax or hold a business meeting, if you have a group.

Room Tip: Ocean view is often available in the off-season and mid-week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CaliforniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I'm from the San Francisco Bay area and this is my new "go to" hotel for a mini vacation. I first stayed at the hotel after finding their the Girls Getaway package on line- what a deal! I went with a friend and had a lovely time of pampering. I enjoyed the stay so much a promised to return with my husband, which I did in order to celebrate a milestone birthday. Their roof top spa area is lovely and well appointed. I found the front desk staff is very accomodating. In my opinion it's worth it to pay a bit extra for an ocean view room. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Californiaperson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What can I say? We went to the hotel for a week to celebrate our 27th anniversary. We told the hotel in advance. We had a 3rd floor inland view room without balcony which worked out at just over £160 per night. The view was of the top of the entrance canopy and an uninspiring view of the same hotel which stretches over to the other side of Cannery Row. The room was luxurious with two very comfortable queen size (medium firmness) beds (with pillow menu). There is a vanity area just in front of the marble bathroom which is very handy for attending to one's toilet if the bathroom is engaged. A plentiful supply of toiletries and towels (as you use one, then toss it in the laundry basket under the sink- it's quickly replaced). No hand shower. The hotel, not an attractive building, was constructed in the 1980's and is equipped to the standard then applicable. The shower handle moves in and out to open the tap. Internal room temperature control setting has both Fahrenheit AND Celsius (rare in USA) readings (also a Bahama ceiling fan). Good blackout curtains and no room noise at all.

The hotel receptionist was very welcoming and congratulatory upon check in and the valet parking and concierge services friendly and efficient- to watch those lads run for the car in 80oC was exhausting!. The lobby had live jazz music at the weekend in the evening which was nice. Music is a feature of the hotel as the grand piano converts to a pianola when not in use and there is always music in the lobby. Room service switch on the radio so that you always return to soft music.

The hotel has two levels of open terraces (the upper one has a fire pit) with wonderful views over the Bay and at the end of the week a substantial group of sea otters hoved into view and remained for several days.

The spa has two jacuzzis open to all guests at the top of the spa wing and if one sits on the higher seats on the right hand side in the left hand one, a view of the distant edge of Monterey Bay may be achieved, though the glass walls are very dirty. The spa has a large gym (mixed), small sauna (single sex) and steam room (mixed). There is a sunning area with room for 12-14 people to stretch out. Cool water, lightly flavoured with floating fruit, is available everywhere. No swimming pool.

The in-house restaurant was the best we visited in the area though the menu is limited. The Cioppino (a San Francisco version of bouillabaisse) is delicious and the steamed clam starter both generous and memorable. My partner fell in love with the three ice cream dessert which arrives as three mini ice cream cones. The hotel gave us 3 chocolate dipped strawberries on our arrival (for two people?) and 4 chocolate dipped large strawberries and sparkling wine at dinner- both offerings were a complete surprise and gorgeous- large strawberries often lose their flavour, but these were amongst the juiciest and tastiest we have ever encountered. best table? The inside booth on the far right (nearest to the kitchen)- gives a panoramic view of the whole bay over the heads of the window tables (which have a more limited and mostly far less attractive view) and a sense of privileged privacy.

Anything you want- ask the hotel and they will attend asap and with a smile. Running late and need a quick lift to a local destination? No problem, they have a Landrover ready outside to help guests. There is no obvious expectation for gratuity which are always taken with thanks. The business centre has a complimentary check-in facility. Very quick lifts- use Lower Lobby floor to move around hotel if you don't want to go outside to get to spa.

Gripes? Yes, only five- and that is nit-picking. 1. the cocktail bar in the lounge seems to have the most inexperienced bartenders (the first night we were there we ordered the six wood baked oysters (as described by the bartender)- four arrived- no apology or explanation.The second night we sat down and ordered our cocktail. The bartender started them, then a couple walked in and ordered theirs. He stopped ours and made theirs. They had almost finished their drinks by the time he seemingly remembered he was doing ours and completed them! 2. On one day the room staff forgot to bring soap- however they brought five when I rang and asked for some! 3. the internet use in the business centre was pay-per-use (min $5)- most luxury hotels we have stayed at, and even some B&Bs, have free access. 4. there is no kettle and tea in room though there is coffee. When I asked for a kettle, I was told that I had to order tea through room service. 5. Breakfast is only available from a breakfast shop (or via room service)- it sells and serves up food like a Greggs in the UK. No trays, you buy your rolls and pastries and balance any drink to get it to one of the outside tables. We went into town for breakfast.

The friendly staff and superb location make this into a lovely resort and I would highly recommend the same.

Room Tip: If you want to spend twice as much just for a small balcony- make sure it sticks out- I would've...
See more room tips
Green Features: Could have had modern three section (by waste) room bins, not merely one large wicker basket.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing