We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa is so wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa is so wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I cannot praise the Monterey Plaza Hotel and the staff enough!!! My husband and I booked a room at the Monterey Plaza Hotel for three nights and our plans were to go to San Francisco for 3 nights. We had a wonderful time at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and in the Monterey area, especially golfing at Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course. The back 9 are on the ocean, and very beautiful. While I was at the hotel, I had trouble being on the bay, (we had a bay front room) with my asthma. (I am allergic to fish & sea food) Latoya, at the front desk, was so wonderful and helpful. She showed me a few other rooms and let me pick the one I felt most comfortable in. The room we picked was not on the bay, and was bright and perfect for my asthma. We hated to leave Monterey, but had to go to San Francisco, which was a total disaster with my asthma. I called Latoya, "I know the internet tells me you are totally booked, but we need to come back". Latoya said she didn't have the room I was in available, but she did have one room left. (building 3 was ok with my asthma) We booked, and went back to the Monterey Plaza. To my total surprise when we returned to the Monterey Plaza, Latoya had arranged for us to have the same room. THANK YOU, LATOYA, YOUR KINDNESS IS TRULY APPRECIATED!!! The rest of our trip was fantastic, and we are definitely planning a return visit to the Monterey Plaza soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,385
    700
    191
    95
    43
See reviews for
1,262
2,020
122
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The best thing at this hotel was the bellhop Joseph who really introduced the hotel and the town in a very charming and personal matter. But the rooms are expensive and a little tired and dusty, not much but enough for you feeling you are paying too much. It appears grand at first but just cannot follow through in the details. F.ex. The empty mini bar!! It is not doing the guests any favours... Even though they have had all credit details since booking. I am too old and spoiled for that. It all seemed a little detached. I really wanted it to be better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

En route to San Francisco from San Diego my family stayed at the Monterey Plaze Hotel and truly loved every minute of our short one night stay. The hotel is quite large and very well appointed as were the rooms. We did not have an ocean view room and stayed in the wing located across the street from the main entrance. Our room was very large and had a beautiful bathroom and very comfortable beds. The service from the concierge was great and we had a delicious happy hour in the bar from 5:00-6:30 where drinks and delicious bar snacks were $5.00 each. The service in the bar during happy hour was fantastic so I can only imagine it is great anytime. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling up the coast.

From the hotel it is a 5 minute walk to Cannery row and a 15 minute walk along a beautiful bike path to Fisherman's Wharf. I must say I expected Monterey to be a bit different -- we found it a bit "cheesy". Compared to Carmel by the Sea, it lacks some charm. However, from the hotel it is a short drive to Carmel and to the beautiful 17 mile drive which takes you through Pebble Beach. Pebble Beach is a must stop to take in the beautiful scenery and also to enjoy lunch on the 18th hole. We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room especially if you are driving up or down the coast like we did and have beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Best location - very convenient yet not among the crowds! It is definitely worth having the ocean view room with a balcony. Kids have do much fun spotting otters out there!!! All the staff whom we met are friendly and helpful. Great restaurant and cafe also. Will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent hotel with location directly on shore. Very good service, outstanding restaurant with perfect view. There is cayak rent right near hotel and you can observe sea otters and sea lions right in front of you. And there is a fireplace right on plaza near hotel with fire at night - very romantic place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatoly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Plaza and it was as amazing as the first time. The hotel is in a great location and the staff go out of their way to be helpful.
We had a lovely room with an ocean view and balcony in the SPA wing. My husband had mentioned to the concierge we were celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary who then kindly arranged for chocolate strawberries to be delivered to our room with a lovely card from the hotel. It's these little touches that make the hotel even more special.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tankengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for selecting the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to celebrate your 20th anniversary and I sincerely appreciate your glowing five-star review. I am elated that our personalized guest service exceeded your expectations. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel - centrally located in Monterey . Looking over the water
you can sit there for ages watching whats going on. The decor is beautiful and every detail is attended to. The Bar and Restaurant is great . And the spa facilities are extensive and well done.
Having a spa on the roof - with a view is quite an experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on waterfront side would have best views - but partial was still good. Closer the the waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing