We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel lived up to its stellar reputation. Particularly memorable was the efficient car valet service. We were "in and out" often and the car was waiting after a 5 minute notice. Desk personnel went out of their way to accommodate my request for at least a partial ocean view (late reservation).

Room Tip: Book early to get ocean view. Obviously, those rooms go first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nelson m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,461 - 2,467 of 4,980 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family stayed at Monterey Plaza in July, 2014. Perfect location! We walked to Cannery Row, the aquarium, restaurants, shops, and the wharf. In the evening, we sat out on the patio next to the fire! We enjoyed our stay and the employees were all wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jberhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Monterey Plaza in May. It was clean and the room was of average size and amenities. The outdoor hot tub in the spa was pleasant. However, the whole place had a "Disneyland" kind of feel and the food we had in the bar/restaurant was terrible. It seems to cater to families and events like weddings, etc. and may be good for such clientele. If you are looking for a well-appointed or deluxe experience, I would not recommend the Monterey Plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KJM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Although, I’m glad your experience had some positive aspects, I’m sorry that overall we did not meet your expectations. Your review is helpful and your sentiments have been shared with our team, we can continue to improve.

I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your recent stay, if you could please contact me at 831-645-4000 or by email at jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com. I hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at this property!! We stayed in one of their penthouse suites and we absolutely loved it!! It was beautiful, extremely spacious and the beds were super comfortable. Both nights we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, which overlooks the water… so relaxing!
Not only is it a gorgeous property, but the staff was also very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Amazing place!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kerstin,

Thank you for sharing your compliments regarding your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am pleased you had an enjoyable visit. It is wonderful to enjoy the natural beauty of the Monterey Bay. We are fortunate to have such incredible views. I value your sentiments regarding our staff and service. I have shared your review with our team. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I have never been to California and booked the Moneterey Plaza on a referral from a friend. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the minute we drove up. The resort is right on the water with spectacular views. The room was well appointed and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel mostly for couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this place.
Perfect location, right on Cannery Row, great views over ocean and Monterey Bay.
Hotel is modern and lovely, bedrooms are good size, beds are fantastically comfortable, staff are courteous and helpful.
There is a Peets coffee place on site with a wonderful terrace overlooking the sea. Peets does the best coffee in California (I love coffee. We are on a 2 week driving holiday so I have tried lots of places. I now go out of my way to find a Peets!)

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank perrygeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Our first two nights were very good here at this hotel. Great location for kayaking, short walk to the aquarium and a short drive to Carmel and a little further to Big Sur. Hotel was really nice, well appointed and service was excellent. Their restaurant was really very good for breakfast. We really lined the gym overlooking the Bay. We would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank RoamingBrit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £191 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing