We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel For A Princess!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Of all the hotels I have ever stayed, 1000+, the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa is still my favorite. The views are great, the location is perfect and the service is excellent. They are so polished and polite you feel like royalty. I don't know how they do it but every staff member seems to know your name and they go out of their way to help you achieve the best stay possible. If you are looking for a romantic or relaxing stay on the Central Coast you won't go wrong with this choice. Paired with one of the wonderful ocean side restaurants along Cannery Row, it really can't be beat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auzzystrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,426 of 4,978 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I'll keep it brief. We stayed for one night on a road trip. It's a lovely hotel but the type of place where you pay for anything extra. Including the resort fee for access to the spa which costs a bomb to have any treatments at. Anyway, it's lovely but I'll stay somewhere a bit more rough and ready next time.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea would be the only way here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skippy_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

All smiles, all the time from the staff. I have never stayed anywhere that was this friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. Rooms and grounds are exceptional, but the staff makes this place. You feel at home with friends. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

From reading the reviews here, I decided to pay the extra and book an ocean view room with a balcony. I wasn't at all disappointed, and the room was absolutely stunning. Binoculars in the room was a nice touch. Expensive, but worth the extra if you can. I don't think I would have enjoyed my stay anything like as much in an internal room.

Location is excellent - short walk to Fisherman's Wharf or Cannery Row.

All the staff were very friendly, from the valet parking guys, through housekeeping.

The only downside was that each night the bar and common areas were busy with corporate types having meetings. Not really what I expected at a resort style hotel/spa in a seaside location. Also I found it strange that the public could just walk into the plaza and use the facilities, which probably explains that not once could I find somewhere to sit down. On one occasion we ended up leaving the hotel to walk down Cannery Row to the Intercontinental to get a drink, and when we couldn't get a dinner table (in a reasonable time), we headed down to Fisherman's Wharf. Basically folk paying $500 per night get no preference over the public walking in. This annoyed me, so feel I must drop a star on the review.

We didn't use the Spa facilities, but they did look very extensive.

Overall, it was a lovely stay, and I would definitely recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for one night with a family of four. We had reserved an ocean front room with a balcony and got it (ha ha I'm not sure if they have any other kind...). The room had a fun view of the harbor, but I have to say I was imagining the view being straight to the open ocean, but that angle was blocked by a side of the hotel. But our boys enjoyed standing on the balcony, listening and watching the ocean waves rush onto the rocks below, and watching birds and cayakers with the binoculars kindly provided by the hotel.

The room had two queen beds. They provided adequate sleeping comfort for a family of four in one room. The bathroom was nice sized, and the room was modern and comfortable. There was nothing in the mini bar though! I was hoping for a glass of wine with my wife on the balcony after we put the kids to bed.

We used the valet service, which was efficient. Service was efficient and unobtrusive throughout. The location is great for seeing the aquarium and what else would you really want to see in downtown Monterey? The rooms can be accessed directly from the street by entering the courtyard without going through the hotel entrance, which is convenient - although I was a bit concerned about all kinds of riffraff entering the building in night time (a concern which did not materialize in the end).

If you want to stay in Monterey this is the place. Next time, though, I'm going to stay a couple miles south in Carmel - not because of the hotel which is very nice, but because of how busy the tourist strip in Monterey is.

Room Tip: Ask for direct ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 73_ptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Wonderful birthday stay! Chocolate covered strawberries on arrival; 30% coupon for spa (I used for Bliss on the Bay massage - great); 20.00 off for birthday at restaurant or spa (I used for Schooners); polite, accommodating, courteous staff; binoculars in the room to look out for wildlife (otters were so cute); clean, nice room; rooftop spa to relax after massage, so beautiful. The food at Schooners was good (lobster and steak for two), the mac and cheese was sooooo good! Happy hour house margaritas were really good (and strong)! I loved keeping the doors open at night to listen to the waves crashing on the rocks (good sleeping)!

The REASON for 4 STARS is because my room (1224) was right above the courtyard with benches. People from the hotel would come out to smoke there, and it was horrible while sitting on our balcony and having to smell the smoke (HORRIBLE). Also, two nights in a row, I was woke up (midnight and 2 a.m.) by loud laughing and talking (I guess around the fire pit), not enjoyable.

So, otherwise my stay was wonderful!

Room Tip: Not 1224. The room is right near the courtyard. There are benches there, and people from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank txtrayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I spent a week here on a conference. The staff are exceptionally helpful, but not intrusive. My room overlooked the bay and was large and very comfortable. The atmosphere is slightly old fashioned but entirely pleasant.
The food offerings were of a high standard, and the conference support staff were excellent .
This is an annual event, and the hotel does a great job in supporting the conference.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £191 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing