We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Complete Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

This is an impressive hotel from the outside and when you enter you are not disappointed. Welcomed with a roaring fire and views of the pacific. Staff were welcoming and easy to navigate around. Room was impressive with the added luxury of a patio area with loungers surrounded by lovely rose bushes. We ate and had some drinks in the restaraunt and again we were not disappointed.

I took the luxury of having a few spa treatments and they were the best I have ever experienced. Then spent some time on the rooftop jaccuzi area, which was bliss. Gym was well equiped and airy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycoupleGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,288
    681
    185
    93
    43
See reviews for
1,232
1,968
119
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

Whenever we go to Monterey we always stay at the Monterey Plaza. The staff and services are the best on the penninsula. Room service, duck club and schooners were all great experiences. My wife and I both received spa treatments from Sallyanne, she was awesome! Great place for kids or couples. Thanks for putting in AC!!! We will be back. Only recommendation.......................avoid the aquarium on weekends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank via98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Our recent stay at the Monterey Plaza was a good selection. It was located at the quieter end of Cannery Row yet was only 2 -3 blocks from the all the activity. The service offered was excellent as was the room and view.
The only area in need of improvement was the dining. It was average at best.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wicky144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

From check in to check out we found nothing but smiling, happy and very helpful employees. We started out with cocktails in Schooners (the bar) then moved to the Duck Club restaurant for dinner and I have to say the food and service was that of a five star hotel. I had my granddaughter there as well and they had crayons to keep her occupied. Also there is a nice painist in the restaurant that evening who played nice music and came by the tables to see if there was any requests. Now for the room, very nice decor , roomy and very clean. The light up makeup mirror is a bonus for most of us woman.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleteddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

The view from the outdoor roof top spa was spectacular. A short walk to the aquarium. I the room and aquarium deal was ideal for a family.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnjteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Calif
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We don't often write reviews but felt it important to let people in on this Gem of a hotel! We spent two wonderful nights here to celebrate our anniversary on June 19th and 20th, and cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was!

We opted for a cannery row view room and were pleasantly surprised to discover that we had a great side ocean view! The rooms are luxurious and clean. And although we had an air conditioner, we never needed it!

The entire staff at this hotel is amazing! All were friendly, curteous and helpful and we were very impressed! Kudo's to the person who hires these people! Everyone seems genuinely happy to be working there and it is easy to see why!

The food in both of the restaurants is outstanding and the views cannot be beat! Try the Pear Martini in Schooners for a real treat as you watch the otters play in the ocean below.

We also spent some time in the spa which was also wonderful.

We will definately be back! If you are looking for a wonderful place to spend your next special occasion...... this place is it!

Rod & Troy Thole

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendwarrior3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

Beautiful Hotel and Fabulous Staff. Not to be missed! Be sure to get an ocean view with balcony..worth the extra money...Just stunning. We stayed here when we first began dating in 1987 and are still visiting 22 years later. The Best.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorscheTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing