We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - right in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great hotel. Close to all attractions and restaurants.
Only disapointment is the breakfast. Not the food itself, but there is not enough room for the guest. This caused a lot of waiting to get a chair and a table..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here just for one night but we highly recommend it . We would definitely stay here again. Great service from the moment we entered the door till we left.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commodore79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I were on a trip to Monterey with a 2 and 4 year old and their grandparents. We had 2 adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor. The rooms were well appointed. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom decor was a little outdated but everything was clean. One of the rooms was next to the elevator and we did have some hallway noise from this. The free breakfast was decent with a hot item (one morning french toast and the next a simple omelet) and muffins, cereal, toast, etc. All in all it was perfect for our stay. The adjoining rooms made our trip a lot more enjoyable with our 2 little ones as we could put them to bed and relax in the other room with grandma and grandpa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bananasplit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This B&B is an amazing value for the location! It's definitely the most affordable place this close to Cannery Row. Everything fun is within walking distance. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. The wine and cheese reception upon check-in was quaint and relaxing. It'd be nice if the hot tub was open a bit later on weekends, but that's a small issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alohabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a quaint little hotel with a lovely atmosphere in a terrific location.

Check in was not smooth although friendly. Took the clerk ages to find us a room although she found our booking. Sent us with all our luggage to a great room on 3rd floor but maid hadn't cleaned it from previous guests. So repeat process all over & got room on 2nd floor which was lovely but noisy. Paper thin walls (squeaking bed next door) & a herd of elephants in the room above.

I was given zero info at check in and didn't read my key holder brochure as I was so very tired from driving. Thus we missed the free brekky next morning but overheard someone mention the complimentary wine & cheese tasting from 4-6pm each day. That was a nice touch.

The room itself was great- very spacious & bed so comfy.

Now the parking which was downright deceitful!! Monterey has plentiful parking & no-one mentioned a parking fee to me, nor the other guests checking in same time. It's not on the website nor anywhere I can find written down. I hadn't read any reviews either so was shocked, upon checking out, to find out about the $13 per night fee. she ended up taking a nights parking off when I insisted no-one had informed. I suspect this happens regularly.

If you stay here & they don't mention the fee please ask them why. One can only hope, with enough pressure, they'll start being above board about it.

Will probably stay somewhere else next time..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor in advance to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkerrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here with my dog on a spur of the moment get-away; fine for that, but I'd never consider this as a couple traveling without kids/pets. Pricey for the quality, no views, loud road, thin walls (woof woof! yap yap!) but very convenient to the cannery and the walking trail that extends up to Seaside. Continental breakfast was unremarkable. Shouldn't have to pay to park, makes the cost of an overnight with one dog close to $300. That said, it was pretty clean, everything in my room worked, and the staff was friendly. As a "romantic" destination, it would be depressing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My stay at the Victorian Inn was wonderful. I would definitely stay there again as well as recommend it to others planning a trip to Monterey. It is just a few blocks from Cannery Row and the Aquarium and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £97 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing