We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel was everything we wanted quiet, comfortable, spa tub was a nice way to end our day. The weather was a little so the gas fireplace was used every morning and evening. Very nice , very romantic.The hotel staff was awesome, maids did a wonderful job cleaning the room.We walked just about everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidsdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    636
    157
    50
    25
See reviews for
491
881
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed two nights here for a mini part of our honeymoon, and it was great! Nice and clean, comfortable and you can walk to EVERYTHING from it! The rooms were quite and you could never hear other people !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Nice location. Never took our car out of the garage. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable in regards to the area. Rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I am really fond of this hotel -- I lived in it for nearly two years in the late 90s and still return to it whenever I go to Monterey. I stay here unless there's no room available. The rooms are not fancy but each one has a balcony or porch, and each has a gas fireplace which can be great. Whenever I arrive I have a bottle of water or half bottle of champagne and a nice note card awaiting me. The hotel is NOT downtown, which I consider a strength. It is a short walk to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Maritime Museum, several good restaurants (Gianni's Pizza, Loose Noodle Pasta, Trailside Cafe, Chart House, etc.), Baskin-Robbins (!), Starbucks, a large drugstore, convenience store and gas station, Blue Fin billiards (a nice place to have a beer and shoot pool), and the oceanfront. It isn't all that long of a walk to town either (along the water, then up by the Doubletree). They have a good breakfast in the morning and an afternoon wine/cheese reception every day. No pool, but a hot tub (and why hang at the pool when you are in Monterey where it is almost criminal not to be out and about). The staff is always very nice and the prices, while rarely low, are decent.

Room Tip: Prefer first floor rooms, unless I can get the top floor rooms with vaulted ceiling. Prefer Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had stayed at this hotel 5 years ago, so we contacted reservations. This is where we met Jonathan. I have NEVER had such excellent service. We were booking rooms for us and 3 of my clients. He took charge, and I was able to breath easy.When we arrived our rooms all had special gifts and a personal note.

As we headed out to see the sites we met Julianna at the front desk. With her help and connectons we experienced a surprise. We mentioned her name to the hostess and we were seated immediately. She had called ahead and made arrangements, in case we showed up. This, during a major event with an extra 40,000 people in town! From that point on she set up all our dining with similar results. Our group was beyond impressed with her connections! Their entire staff was incredible.

Room Tip: Excellent maid staff, they even help one of the group with a set of jumper cables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the Victorian Inn for one night only. We had a room with a gas fire place below the roof. The vast majority of rooms is NOT located in the Victorian building which contains the lobby, registration and the breakfast room. Nevertheless our room was clean, nicely furnished and of course the fire place was a nice romantic addon. The bathroom was spotless as well.
There is an underground parking structure where hotel guests can park their car which I would encourage you to do, since the Victorian Inn is in walking distance to the Pier.
Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast room is also used for other happenings like wine tastings etc. If you stay in Monterey for a couple of days you should really consider the Victorian Inn.

Room Tip: Couples should book a room with a fire place below the roof since these rooms have a high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

They stole stuff out of our fridge and left the trash there. They even charged us for something we didn't use. The only thing that was it has a good location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbartels3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We love hearing from our guests; both the good and the bad. Honest, candid feedback from our guests is especially important to us, as it gives us our greatest opportunity to improve both our hotels and our service.
That being said, we are deeply troubled by this reviewer’s claims. We very much hope that they will reach out to the hotel directly, so that we can get more details and look into it properly. Though no reports of theft were made to the hotel in recent weeks, we take such claims very seriously. We hope to hear from this guest soon so that we can work with them to resolve the issue.

Should any guest feel that they would like to speak with a manager directly about something, please do not hesitate to give us a call; we are more than happy to discuss any concerns or feedback that a guest would like to bring to our attention.
Thank you; all comments are truly appreciated.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing