We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, good location and helpful staff - would definetly return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, good location and helpful staff - would definetly return.”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, good location to reach the centre of the town and very spacious clean rooms

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    621
    148
    46
    25
See reviews for
469
853
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I thought this hotel was lovely. Big rooms, fantastic location. Wine and cheese in the evening a nice touch. The price was great compared to other hotels.
My boyfriend thought the decor was a bit "tired" but I didn't have a problem with it at all.

Room Tip: The road noise wasn't much of a problem - but you could request a room off the street for a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_enuf_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

For the price, you can't beat this place--the Victorian Inn offers a number of AAA and other discounts to take down the room price in a rather expensive area, and the location is incredibly convenient for walking to Cannery Row/Aquarium and getting to the Coastal Trail. Even Pacific Grove is less than a 2-mile walk. The ambiance is great, with decor fitting the name, and cozy, comfortable rooms. Nice perks like the in-room gas fireplace and wine and cheese hour make this one of the more luxurious Best Westerns I've stayed in. The bathroom is standard but very clean. My only complaints are that the continental breakfast has somewhat limited offerings, and the breakfast room is a little small/crowded--however, it's possible to ask for a tray and take your breakfast back to your room, which was much appreciated. Also, the parking fee is a little more than I'd prefer at $13/day. Overall, though, I'd highly recommend the Victorian Inn for anyone who wants to stay in easy walking distance of the Monterey sights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquafortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel let us check into one of our two rooms early, so we could freshen up to go to Cannery row. The rooms were very nice and the fireplaces added a nice touch to our visit. The beds were much smaller than most hotels we visit. Another nice perk is that the hotel is so close to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I did not like having to pay for parking. The breakfast was a little on the skimpy side, compared to other Best Western hotels that I have stayed at. All in all the staff was very friendly!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street and get a room upstairs with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
I would like begin by thanking this reviewer for taking a moment to leave their comments. Honest feedback from our guests is extremely valuable, as is provides our best opportunity to improve not just our property, but also the service we provide all of our guests. I would also like to thank this reviewer for their very kind words and high rating with regard to our service and location. We also believe that it is our easy walking distance to Cannery Row and the Ocean, paired with the hard work of our staff that sets our hotel apart from those around us.
That being said we are all disappointed that, despite this guest’s high regard for certain aspects of our hotel, their stay was shy of being entirely wonderful.

Regarding this reviewer’s disappointment with our parking fee - as our policy, we try very hard to make sure that our guests are charged for only what they want and use. Some other hotels, properties, including some of our neighbor hotels, use a “resort fee” to charge guests for amenities; typically this includes access to a business center and parking. We disagree with this practice because all guests are made to pay this fee, but not all guests use these services. Still other properties will offer similar services “complimentary,” and put the charge in the room rental. In this way, the fee is hidden from the guest, and they end up paying sales tax on something they might not have wanted in the first place. Out of respect to our guests, we feel that it is unfair to charge for something that is not wanted or used, and as such we offer optional amenities and services, such as parking, separately.
Additionally, this charge is important to us as it goes directly toward our efforts to create a secure environment for our guests; this includes a night security guard, security cameras, and other features. We also feel that the amount we charge is reasonable, especially compared to some of our neighbor hotels which charge up to $22 for the same service. We do regret that this separation of service made this reviewer think even a little bit less of our hotel, and hope that it does not deter them from staying with us in the future. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel welcome and respected, and a part of this is being honest about what they pay for.

As for the reviewer’s comments about the complimentary breakfast offered by our hotel – we will be expanding our breakfast come January 1st, adding an additional hot item to the options every morning. This will be in additional to the cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, assorted breads, juices, hard boiled eggs, coffee, hot chocolate, and current hot item that we currently offer

Should any guest like to speak with one of our managers directly, please do not hesitate to give us a call; we are more than happy to discuss any feedback or concerns. We would also very much like the opportunity to welcome back all of our guests – both those who have enjoyed their stay, and those whom we may have fallen short of impressing – so that we might demonstrate how genuinely dedicated we are to providing a wonderful, well serviced Monterey experience.
Thank you,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

First off, the location of this hotel for visiting Cannery Row and the Aquarium can't be beat. The hotel is two blocks up from the shops and restaurants, and some rooms have a peak of view of the ocean.

The rooms are a bit dated, but comfortable and clean. The room had a fireplace, and was plenty large for our family of two adults and two young kids.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The afternoon wine and cheese reception was nicer than expected for a hotel of this star level. The morning breakfast was good enough, although the room is small and quite crowed. Go early to get a table.

A bonus feature of the hotel is that you can park your car, and leave it there until 6pm the day of checkout. That means you don't have to pay to park at the aquarium. The parking fee is $13/day.

The room was pretty quiet, even though we were on the street side. The heater was pretty weak though, and the room was a bit cold. This probably isn't a problem most of the year.

We got a great deal on Priceline, about half price, so it was definitely worth it for us.

Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Every time my husband and I visit Monterey we choose The Best Western Victorian Inn! The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean pillows are extremely comfortable and the location is FANTASTIC to all the local sights. We find the hotel to be simple but with a bit of charm! The rooms with the vaulted beamed ceilings are beautiful and the fireplaces are a cozy touch! The staff is VERY friendly and they genuinely care about what your needs are! We'll continue to frequent this hotel as often as possible. If you're looking for a simple, quiet, comfortable and cozy place to stay, my husband and I highly recommend this hotel. We don't like huge hotels that don't remember frequent visitors! One of the hotel's staff remembers me every time I call for a reservation! Ask for him by name and he'll do his best to take care of you! Thanks Rufus for your consideration and your friendliness and most of all for remembering us! See you soon!

Room Tip: Ask for Rufus the front desk gentleman that works usually in the evenings! He'll do his best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlfromCulverCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Clean & comfortable, location to Downtown is within walking distance for dining, shopping, and aquarium. Daily wine & cheese reception is elegantly displayed, as well as breakfast each morning. This hotel has the historic charm that will make your stay memorable. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_Paul_MNBluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing