We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

within walking distance to everything. nice room. hot tub was perfect temperature. everything this hotel offered was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dajung555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

There's not much that's "Victorian" or "boutique" about this hotel - it's a large, sprawling, typical motel property - but they do have a spa, a decent breakfast, and wine and cheese in the afternoon, and we had a very pleasant stay there. Our room was large, clean, and quiet even though it backed up to the elevator shaft. Breakfasts were pretty good: real hard-boiled eggs in addition to the fake-egg "omelets", very good sausage, and a reasonable selection of breads, cereals, yogurt, etc. Our only minor complaint was that the menu never changed, and became a bit tiresome after a few days. Local wine is poured in the afternoon, with cheese, crackers, and fruit on the side. The location is excellent, 2 blocks below Lighthouse Ave. and 2 blocks above Cannery Row, and within walking distance of the Aquarium for almost anyone (as long as you can manage Monterey's hills). We would stay here again, any time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobandJudyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have stayed in many Monterey hotels, but this one is the very best for the price and quiet (at least our room.) The afternoon wine and cheese hour (literally) was modest but pleasant and featured a local winery. Also included was breakfast-french toast, pre-made omlettes, muffins, cereal, yogurt and cereal. Beverages-various teas, coffees, juices. Just a caution--this hotel contracts with small bus tours, so try to be early or late for afternoon wine and/or breakfast. Rooms are spacious and the gas fireplaces work nicely.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a good option to stay at a nice place by Cannery Row without paying an exorbitant rate. It is about a block or two from the main sights.

The rooms are uniquely furnished with a gas fireplace which makes this facility stand apart from others. Otherwise, the hotel is comparable to the quality and standards of other good Best Westerns. The service is pretty good, there is breakfast, there is a wine/cheese hour for guests, and other amenities. I would agree with some of the other reviews in that this is not a Victorian lodge or boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HumJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife's and my birthdays and our wedding anniversary are on three consecutive days so each year we plan a getaway to celebrate...we call it the "Birthaversary." This year was particularly important...65 for me; 34 years married; 60 for her..but due to business obligations we only had a small window for our special occasions, and decided that a trip to Monterey with a romantic dinner at the Sardine Factory and a visit to the Aquarium would be just the ticket. We also have two older (15 & 10) dogs that we are reluctant to put in a kennel or leave with a pet sitter. After checking "pet friendly" hotels online, we found the Victorian Inn. It was ideally located and had a good AARP rate and a very reasonable pet policy. The included wine/cheese reception and breakfast were a bonus. Our room was immaculate with a gorgeous marble fireplace and balcony that looked out at the Bay. There was a safe for my wife to leave her purse when we went out, refrigerator with honor bar, double sinks great for getting ready for a night on the town at the same time, WiFi that connected instantly on my Ipod, and the most comfortable mattress either of us have ever slept on. Parking was in an underground garaage with convenient elevator service (and several luggage carts) to make getting to the upper floors easy. The staff, especially Mary at the front desk, was professional and efficient, but most of all very friendly and helpful. We were able to purchase 2 day for the price of one Aquarium tickets right in the lobby and could walk to the restaurant, Aquarium and Cannery Row in a matter of minutes. I had ordered roses to be delivered to the hotel on our day of arrival and as requested, they were placed in our room prior to our checking in...great surprise for the bride! All in all a perfect stay in a great little property..the only thing that would have made it better is if it had been a little longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLOGuy7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked a last minute get away to drive up the coast from SLO on Hwy 1 and based on the previous reviews chose the Victorian Inn. They met and exceeded the reviews and we are looking forward for that next get away there. The positves, location, better than expected cheese and wine reception (Victor your host the best), staff friendly and caring, breakfast good, charming feel but not too stodgy and we brought our pug which enjoyed sitting by the fireplace. The negatives, none, just having to wait to go back up again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The main photo showing the Victorian might misrepresent what you think you are staying in—in fact it does. You will actually be staying in a typical Best Western Hotel. This one has around 70 rooms. The Victorian in the picture is actually the main lobby, reception and dining. But don’t let that scare you off. The hotel and grounds were well maintained and clean. A cool surprise on our arrival was the wine and cheese served until 5:30 in the Victorian dining area. There was a lot of wine being poured when we were there, so places to sit were scarce. Two seats were available at one or two tables do to the ‘couples’ factor, so we went European—we joined a table. We happened to meet a nice well-traveled couple from Argentina.

Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed but critics might complain about ‘dated’ elements in the room such as the ‘tube’ TV, and maybe some aspects of décor. I wasn’t there to watch TV, and I’m sure it worked just fine. The King sized bed was very comfortable and it was appointed with nice sheets and pillows. The gas fireplace was a nice touch; just turn the key and light the fire—simple!

We didn’t use the spa but it was clean and privately located.

Breakfast was far more than I expected based on reviews. I would think many Americans and most European travelers would be pleased. Food presented on the healthier side were coffee, tea, cider, hot and cold cereals, assorted yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices and fruits, toast, bran muffins. And on the heavier side were scrambled omelet-shaped eggs, sausage and French toast. The latter isn’t for me and it didn’t look the best, but then I wouldn’t expect it to.

The hotel location is excellent for its proximity to Cannery Row, The Aquarium, Bike/Pedestrian Trail and Beach access too.

Some might complain about the $13 for underground parking, but unless you don’t mind feeding the meter at .25 cents for 16 minutes, there are few non-metered parking spaces adjacent to the hotel.

Staff was helpful, hard working and professional. All-in-all this was a good value in my opinion. Sad to think just a hand full of years ago this mighta cost about 90 bucks. But then that’s another story.

Room Tip: Our room #208 on the second level was off-street in the interior of the complex with nice courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booker925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £97 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing