We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The welcome we received was friendly & all the staff we encountered were pleasant and able to answer our questions about the area & attractions.

Our room was very nice, comfy beds, spacious & spotlessly clean. No problems with noise from the street or neighbours during our stay.

We enjoyed the breakfast & managed to make the complimentary cheese & wine tasting in the afternoon.

Great location for exploring Monterey but I think it would also be a great base for exploring the wider area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REALLYMR&MRSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    615
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
462
847
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Being a Best Western, we were not expecting the cozy, inviting B&B experience we received at this hotel. The rooms were large and well-appointed, much like staying in someone's home. Not a run-of-the-mill chain hotel experience at all. The location was excellent - two blocks from Cannery Row and 20 minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf. Parking costs extra, and we had some difficulty getting in and out of the below-ground garage because of the way the drive sloped - our rental car's low carriage kept scraping the pavement - but they allowed us to park in a spot behind the hotel on our last night to avoid this problem. The breakfast is good, if repetitive. And be forewarned that the free wifi runs slow. People not from central CA should also know that there is not usually A/C in the hotels here, as there wasn't at this Best Western. The room was quite comfortable with the ceiling fan running and the sliding door open a bit, but this also allowed the noise from the busy street outside in. However, all in all, I would still stay here again in a heartbeat if ever I'm in Monterey.

Room Tip: If you normally get hot, ask for a room with the sliding glass door facing the courtyard or back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

It's so amazing how reviews can be so positive about this hotel. My opinions are: It is nothing special. It's a stacked motel type facility on a busy street with thin walls. On a glorious sunny day in Monterrey, my hotel was just plain. Rooms are rather dark gussied up with a gas fireplace. Big screen TV with low rez service. Slow internet despite the claim that it is "high speed internet". When you turn it on it offers you a higher speed service for $3.99 a day...but even that is quite slow. And services like Skype are choppy because of slow upload speeds. Long depressing walkway among the stacked rooms. Front desk people were good/average. It's about 8 PM...all windows closed...I can hear the cars rolling by.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AKarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Perfect location for walking to Cannery Row and local shops and restaurants. Great hotel for staying with dogs. Room is very cute and comfortable. Clean and spacious. The fireplace adds a delightful little touch and some romantic ambiance. Customer service at the front desk was fantastic and quick. I love that we could leave our car parked in the lot even after check-out. This was perfect for being able to have a leisurely morning to walk and get breakfast and to take the dogs for a nice long walk before the car ride home. My one and only complaint, like other reviewers have noted, is that the sound travels from room to room. We couldn't necessarily hear what was going on in other rooms - but I felt like either the residents next to us or above us were slamming their doors incessantly. At 6 am. At 6:10 am. At 6:15 am. There was a lot of door slamming and it was far from muffled. It felt like it was echoing through our own room. Annoying? Very. A deal breaker for another stay? No. Not the hotel's fault rude inconsiderate people don't know how to close doors politely at early hours on weekend mornings.

Despite the noise, I will definitely consider staying here again next time hubby and I are in the area with our little furry babies.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA_Neener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Within walking distance of all popular attractions, but far enough away from the crowds. Helpful staff. Check with them about restaurant suggestions, they have complimentary offers from many of them. Breakfast is full buffet, Very quiet even on 2nd floor. Wine at reception not great but the people you meet from all over the world make it worth going down and visiting. Fireplace in the middle of summer was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thanks for posting your review with tips that will help future guests! We hope you will be a future 'repeat guest' very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila. suburbs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were on a small guided tour of Highway 1, and this was our stop for the night----Cannery Row in Monterey. From the hotel you can walk easily thru the Cannery Row section of Monterey, up to the Aquarium, to the beach, up a half mile to watch the seals lying on the beach.

There is Wifi and it was nice to have a newspaper available at the front desk in the a.m.

Everyone in our party loved the hotel. Each room had a fireplace for cooler evenings. There was a hot-tub an easy walk from the room. Rooms were very, very spacious. Super-comfortable gigantic bed. There were two bathroom sinks---one inside the regular bathroom, and one just outside the bathroom, making it easy for two to get ready for the day at the same time. Nice flat-screen television. We didn't spend that much time in the room, as we were here to see the sights. The hotel was a two-story open type, everyone having an outside entrance to his room. We were on the ground floor, so we had a little patio.

However, we did partake of a really nice wine and cheese social (daily at 4 pm, I believe). Very enjoyable, and servers very friendly and accommodating to all who were there. Same thing at breakfast the next day.....breakfast burritos, sausages, good coffee, fruit juice, fresh fruit, take-along fruit, toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs....I'm probably missing some things, but it was a pretty nice start to the day. I watched one of the servers help a small boy prepare a "family tray" to take back to his parents' room.

If this is the new standard for Best Western, they're onto something good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magister_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We decided on Saturday to go to Monterey on Sunday for two nights. The two or three places we have stayed at in the past were booked so I looked around the web for other options. With a high rating from Tripadvisor and availability we booked our stay.

We had a King room on the third floor and it was very spacious with high ceilings, fireplace, large flat screen TV and two sinks in the bath area. Two things that we especially liked were they provided a rubber bath mat to use in the tub/shower so you don't slip and the remote for the TV has a sealed surface so it can be cleaned properly.

The staff was efficient and helpful. The breakfast was similar to what most of the chain hotels are offering now with three hot items along with the cereals, muffins, fruits, drinks etc.

The location is central to the area activities and we enjoyed our spur of the moment stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing