We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nice early evening reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Pines Park
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice early evening reception”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Came in June with another couple- great location, close to Cannery Row- we walked to restaurants and shops! Had a nice complimentary breakfast, serve yourself selection! The staff was great and we really enjoyed the early evening reception with complimentary wine, beverages, fruit, cheese and crackers. It was nice to talk and get to know some of the other guests from different places- Stayed 3 nights-time went by so fast-will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelcat396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    632
    154
    50
    25
See reviews for
487
875
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Fork, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Have stayed here multiple times for business. Welcoming, able and friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, clean and well kept. Only downside is no microwave for heating restaurant left-overs in-room (there is a small frig for storage). The staff were very accommodating and let us use the breakfast kitchen microwave. The recently upgrade to flat screen TVs is very nice (former TV space would be a great place for a microwave). Love the in-room fireplace (though the lighting is a bit tricky).

Room Tip: Third floor with vaulted ceilings have very nice rooms, but cold in the winter as there are no ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astillness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for selecting the Victorian Inn for your business travel accommodations. We are glad to know that you appreciate the new 42 inch flat screen televisions, and we will take your micorowave suggestion into consideration. Our staff would be more than happy to help light the fireplace if you ever have trouble in the future. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of our Californian tour, and we were very pleased with our choice! It is in a great position in Monterey, being just two blocks and a five minute walk from Cannery Row, and a fifteen minute walk to Fishermans Wharf down a pedestrian/cycle only pathway.
The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful especially on reception- we had let them know that it was our wedding anniversary whilst we were there and both staff on duty when we arrived congratulated us as soon as they heard our name, before they'd even checked their records - we were most impressed, and even more so when they sent a complimentary bottle of wine plus chocolates to our room!!
The room was large with a King bed which was extremely comfortable, and a good sized bathroom plus an extra sink area within the bedroom- strange but useful!! Everything was clean and the furniture in good condition and it was in keeping with the Victorian feel of the hotel and we had no complaints! There was also a balcony with table and chairs which overlooked the inner courtyard, but also the walkways around the rooms, so whilst being a welcome addition it certainly wasn't private. Our room was adjacent to an outside door to other rooms and we thought that we would hear a lot of noise, but this wasn't the case and it was very quiet day and night!
Continental breakfast was included in the price which was more than adequate, and there was a cheese and wine hour every afternoon which was a great chance to meet other guests. There is a large garage underneath the hotel, but it does cost $13 per night , one of my major hotel complaints, you pay enough for the room so it should be included.
So all in all very pleased with our stay and yes we would stay there again if in the area, which is always the best test of any hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 205 on second floor which was fine, but have read that unadvertised third floor rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Best Western Victorian is a wonderful place to stay when in the Monterey area. The rooms are very clean, the staff is always willing to take care of your every need.
The location is great. Very close to Cannery Row, The Aquarium & Fisherman's Warf. All with in walking distance.
We have stayed there many times, and will again.
The Victorian Gets "Two Thumbs Up" from me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stay every year at the Victorian Inn and always are treated great. The staff is friendly and especially Victor, Michelle, Chris, Josefina & of course Charlene who we personally dealt with.. Thank you to you all!! The breakfast & wine times are wonderful. We will be back soon!! Rm. 222 has always been our room!!!

Room Tip: I like the top floor but each person is different!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for an evening before heading to Santa Cruz.

Lovely hotel slightly overpriced.
We had a large room with fireplace and balcony all a bit old fashioned.
Everyone stopping at the hotel seemed to be 60+ would not recommend for the younger generation.

Oh an the breakfast was disgusting... (Avoid the sausage type things)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Firstly, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their recent visit. I consider such feedback to be quite valuable, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. I also want to thank this reviewer for their kind words and high ranking of our housekeeping and other service staff; our staff’s hard work is a large part of what makes our hotel unique, and I am very happy to share this feedback.

Though we would hope that the ambiance created by gas fireplaces in every room and a complimentary wine and cheese reception in the afternoons, would help to make all of our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, we are disappointed to hear that this guest felt the hotel was dated and fell short of their expectations. We are in the process of a multi-year update to the property, however. Beginning in 2011, we have already replaced the mattress sets, light fixtures in the rooms, and patio furniture, as well as installed a top-of-the-line Wireless internet system. Thus far in 2012 we have completed the upgrade of all of our bathroom mirrors, guest room desk chairs, and the installation of 42”, flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. As the winter continues, we plan to upgrade our guest room night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, dressers, drapes, and décor – and we hope that this guest will consider a return trip so that these and many other improvements can be experienced firsthand.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their comments. Should anyone wish to speak with one of our managers directly, please do not hesitate to give us a call; we are always happy to speak to our past, current, and future guests.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way to San Francisco. The front desk help was very courteous and helpful, both checking in and checking out. It was well located only a short walk to the water. The room was nice and the continental breakfast was okay (though the sitting area was a little too small). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing