We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very slow wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Location was very good for my conference held just off Fisherman's Wharf. Staff were very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was actually really good. Complimentary wine and cheese each evening as well. My only complaint is on the slightly spotty wifi connection, and the fact that it was *very* slow. But hey, it was included in the price, so not a huge concern.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Halfway between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf, this place is the perfect location, although some might want it to be nearer the sea, but even that's a short walk away.

I'm finding it hard to say anything much about the hotel as it did everything we wanted it to do on our one-night stopover. Standard issue king bed in a room big enough to take it with all the facilities you would expect. No more no less. Bit noisy at night with people coming back to their rooms, but it was minor and not too late.

We did get breakfast included in the price, and this was cereals, toast and fruit, but the dining room is woefully inadequate to cater for the number of people who COULD descend on the room of a morning.

Bit annoyed at having to pay extra for parking since the garage is underneath the hotel building and there doesn't appear to be any security on it, but overall the price was good for a comfortable, safe hotel in this location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentish-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

First, and most importantly, I want to thank this reviewer for their time and comments. Feedback from our guests is so important to us, as it gives us our best chance to make improvements. I want to thank this reviewer as well for their kind words and high ranking of our location; just steps from Cannery Row, and yet just outside the activity of that energetic area, the Victorian Inn really does have a wonderful location from which to enjoy Monterey.

Regarding our parking fee, please know that this is in place out of the utmost respect for our guests. We believe that our guests should only be charged for what they want and use. Some properties, including some of our neighbor hotels, use a “resort fee” to charge guests for amenities; typically this includes access to a fitness center and parking. We disagree with this practice because all guests are made to pay this fee, but not all guests use these services. Still other properties will offer similar services “complimentary,” and put the charge in the room rental. When this is done, the fee ends up being hidden, and sales tax ends up being charged on something that might not have been wanted in the first place. We believe that it is unfair to charge for something that is not wanted or used, and as such we offer optional amenities and services, such as parking, separately.
Additionally, this charge, which was put in place in 2002, is important to us as it goes directly toward our efforts to create a secure environment for our guests; this includes a night security guard, security cameras, and other features that help to keep the garage safe and exclusive to our guests. We do also feel that the amount we charge is reasonable, especially when compared to some of our neighbor hotels which charge up to $22 for the same service.
We regret if this separation of service makes anyone think less of our hotel; our goal is to make all of our guests feel welcome and respected, and a part of this is being honest about what they pay for.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their comments. Should anyone wish to speak with one of our managers directly, please don’t hesitate to let us know; we are always happy to speak with our current and future guests.

Thank you,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Visited October 12th weekend. Great location. Got a room with a fireplace but didn't use it--it said use at own risk. Clean. I had a partial view of bay. Breakfast was nice--boiled and fried eggs, toast, coffee, tea, cereal, sausage. Nice touch with the wine in the room upon arrival. Had to get up during the night to cut the heat up (guess I should have used the fireplace). The only negative I would have is that the parking entry/exit scaped the bottom of our car every time, no matter how careful we were.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center. The "spa" is a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brosetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went to Monterey for the Aquarium, the Victoian Inn was perfect. Close to the Aquarium, hotel was clean, and staff was helpful and courteous. We loved the personal touches we recieved by the staff. The room was very nice, and having a fireplace made it very cozy. Enjoyed our stay. Net time we go back to the area we hope they have a opening. Oh and FYI, both the cheese and wine reception AND the breakfast was good, good variety and fresh. The dining area was nice as well with the Inn itself.

Room Tip: We have only stayed once so far, but we enjoyed our garden view room, and having the fireplace was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tootc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A fine place to stay that is close to Cannery Row (easy walk), Pebble Beach and Carmel. Easy to drive into and get out of. Check in was efficient and all staff is very nice. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Free wireless but slow. The charge is $4.95 per day for Premium Internet speed which is faster than the free Internet which has a speed of 1 MB. After wine and cheese is a nice touch and free everyday from 4:30pm to 5:30pm. The was Ventana Syrah and Ventana Chardonnay. Smoked cheese, crackers, and apple slides available as well. Complimentary breakfast include hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage links and french toast. There were some pasteries, toast, fruit, oatmeal, orange juice and apple juice. I did not like the $13 per day parking fee. There is a hot tub, but no pool. Nor is there a fitness center. If you are looking for a clean room with some nice amenities and a decent AAA rate, stay here. We had no issues.

Room Tip: Our room was second floor facing the street. This can be a little loud but was quiet in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Rooms were great size & was great having a fireplace.
Bit bemused why the charge parking since it's under the building not outsourcing it at all.
Breakfast was great, afternoon reception was okay (by no means great wine or cheese).
Location is good but if you dont want to pay the price for bay views and the place has character.

Room Tip: book a place with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Came in June with another couple- great location, close to Cannery Row- we walked to restaurants and shops! Had a nice complimentary breakfast, serve yourself selection! The staff was great and we really enjoyed the early evening reception with complimentary wine, beverages, fruit, cheese and crackers. It was nice to talk and get to know some of the other guests from different places- Stayed 3 nights-time went by so fast-will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelcat396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £97 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing