We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but useless wifi & hidden parking charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed for one night whilst travelling down the coast. The room was nice enough - the fireplace was a nice touch and the rest of the room was clean and nicely decorated. It was also useful to have a sink outside the bathroom as well as one inside. What let this place down was the completely useless wifi. We contacted reception several times and were told they sometimes have problems with it due to the weather (it was blue skies and sunshine when we stayed there...). Our room was probably the closest one to reception, and it only worked in our room for about five minutes of our stay. Another issue we had was with parking - there is a daily charge which is not mentioned on the website, or when we booked on the phone. They did eventually agree to refund us the charge when we pointed out that it is not mentioned anywhere until you book in. It was ok staying for one night, but if we went back to the area I think we'd look for somewhere different next time.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LondonFlipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

It's a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. There's also nice wine and cheese everyday for guests.
The room is big, and the decoration and victorian style makes the place very cozy.
Location of the hotel is great too.
Only thing is the breakfast area is pretty small and there's a small passage there's no shelter from the lift to our room. Other than that, it's a perfect stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Given where it is located, this hotel is very good bargain.
The rooms are especially roomy and well maintained.
Room and linen are clean.
Continental breakfast runs to eggs , sausages, cereals fruits, ... the works.
The rooms have fireplaces and are well decorated.
Ground level rooms have balconies at the back, but without a view or privacy.
It is conveniently located, on a quiet street, within 5 minutes walk from Cannery row.
The hotel has paid parking, which is much cheaper than what you would pay in town. They let us leave our there past checkout without charging extra while we spent the day out at the aquarium.
The hotel also has little perks like fresh cold drinking water in the lobby, friendly staff, a wine-and-cheese reception every day(maybe), and a decent breakfast spread (did I mention that already?)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odobenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This was our first over night stay in Monterey and just at random we choise the BEst Western Victorian Inn. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and our room was way more than expected.....very clean and oh how wonderful it smelled..very nice comfortable bed..We didn't eat the breakfast that was offered nor did we do the wine and cheese tasting as our time was limited, but over all "when" we make it back up that way we will stay at BWVI again :)

Room Tip: very good location if you want to just walk to the water front....few blocks down and few blocks nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Dogs Welcome - Don Schissel Concord CA

A man wrote a letter to a
Small hotel in a Midwest town he planned to visit on his vacation.


He wrote: I
Would very much like to bring my dog with me. He is well-groomed and very
Well behaved. Would you be willing to permit me to keep him in my room
With me at night?

An immediate reply came
From the hotel owner, who wrote:

SIR: I've been operating
This hotel for many years. In all that time, I've never had a dog steal
Towels, bedclothes, silverware or pictures off the walls. I've never had
To evict a dog in the middle of the night for being drunk and disorderly.
And I've never had a dog run out on a hotel bill. Yes, indeed, your dog is
Welcome at my hotel. And if your Dog will vouch for you, you're welcome to
Stay here, too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were here April 12-17. After flying all day, getting lost from the airport, and having trouble getting the transponder key out of our crazy rental car, we were a bit late for the wine the evening we checked in, but the wonderful Michele and Victor treated us. Michele, the manager, was a great friend to us the whole time. The 2nd floor room was huge + the location was perfect. We liked the included breakfast & afternoon happy hour. The underground parking was well worth the fee. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

lovely accommodation- additional charge for parking ($13 per night) and the internet was not very good in the rooms but lovely size rooms and clean
breakfast was simple but did the job
afternoon 4.30-5.30 they do free cheese and wine (lemonade and coffee) which was nice after a long drive
location is one block to the waterfront- easy to find from the highway

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H22h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
327 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £98 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing