We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wave Street Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Cannery Row Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pacific(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
964
689
170
54
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
689
170
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesecannery rowgreat locationfoam streetwithin walking distancegas fireplaceparking feecrackerstwo sinksfamily suiteevery afternoontwo blocksbest westernsthe monterey bay aquariumsmall balconynice breakfastcontinental breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,085 - 1,090 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were on our way to Northern California and made a stop in Monterey. We stayed at the Victorian Inn because of the great value for this area. However we were surprised at what a wonderful room we had! The room was large and we had two sinks! It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. We ate at a wonderful restaurant that was within walking distance, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar. We had fish and it was cooked perfectly! This hotel in in a great location for walking along the bay too.

Room Tip: We had a room with two beds and it was very large.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hblocal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We returned to the Victorian Inn after being here 25 years ago, and it was still very nice. Check-in was quick and easy, and our room was spacious. The decor in the bathroom is getting quite dated--I think it was the same as our last stay. The hotel is very confusing with separate wings going outside to the various rooms, but once we figured out where we were going it was ok. It might be a bit much for anyone who isn't very mobile. Rooms were clean. We did have an issue with our room being too warm, and the desk sent someone up quickly. However, the issue wasn't resolved. There didn't seem to be a way to set/change the thermostat--the man they sent up just told us it was fine, and it wasn't. Also, the cleaner turned off the ceiling fan every time she cleaned, and that didn't help with the warmth of the room. Maybe if the fan was left on the room would have been more comfortable. The fireplace was lovely, but it was very warm during our stay so we didn't use it.
Our room faced the street which is very loud which was the biggest issue we had with the hotel. We knew we were going to have a street-side room; we just didn't know that the area was so busy with traffic.
Parking is very tight, and it is fairly expensive. However parking in the area is hard to find so you don't have much choice.
Breakfast was very good, and the staff was cordial and on top of keeping it cleaned and stocked.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Victorian Inn was just OK- barely. The room was large and recently redone- in a not very attractive fashion. Upon check in I noticed a musty smell and asked the (very unhelpful) lady at check in about this. She said that they could move us to the first floor, but that all of the rooms were exactly the same. We stayed put and slept with the door open. The next day (after an all but inedible breakfast- we ate somewhere else the next day) I noticed an open door to a first floor room and they had hardwood floors instead of carpet (ours had a stain- courtesy of a dog, I'm sure). The hardwood floors would have taken care of the smell. I would not stay here again. It seems like a place that gets so many tourists that they really do not care what you think of them. Pacific Grove is a small town about 5 minutes out of Monterey- a much better place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank criticalTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Most importantly, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their stay. Feedback from our guests is our most valuable asset, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. That being said, we are all quite disappointed that this guest’s stay fell so short of their expectations and our standards. With regard to the smell in this guest’s room, I want to apologize again; our housekeeping supervisor is investigating this further, and steps will be taken to make sure something like this is not overlooked in the future. We want our guests to feel entirely comfortable in their rooms, and we will work to correct anything that may detract from that comfort. As for the rooms themselves, please know that we have very few rooms with wood flooring. Those few rooms that do have wood floors are all on the ground floor, and are set aside for use as our pet friendly rooms. When this guest indicated that they did not wish to move to a lower floor, it was never the intention of our staff to be misleading when they described the other rooms as having the same flooring.

Regarding this reviewer’s comment on Monterey itself; the city of Monterey is an interesting mix of dynamic and restful, and the Cannery Row area of the city fully embodies both aspects. As a mix of iconically historic and playfully modern, we know that this energy may not be for everyone, and we regret that the city itself had any kind of negative impact on this guest’s stay. Though we would love the opportunity to welcome this reviewer back, so that we might demonstrate how truly dedicated we are to providing excellent service, should we not have that opportunity, we wish them the very best on their future travels.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for their time and comments. Should anyone have a question or concern that they would like to speak about directly with one of our managers, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We welcome all opportunities to speak with both our guests and our future guests.

Thank you,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed for one night whilst travelling down the coast. The room was nice enough - the fireplace was a nice touch and the rest of the room was clean and nicely decorated. It was also useful to have a sink outside the bathroom as well as one inside. What let this place down was the completely useless wifi. We contacted reception several times and were told they sometimes have problems with it due to the weather (it was blue skies and sunshine when we stayed there...). Our room was probably the closest one to reception, and it only worked in our room for about five minutes of our stay. Another issue we had was with parking - there is a daily charge which is not mentioned on the website, or when we booked on the phone. They did eventually agree to refund us the charge when we pointed out that it is not mentioned anywhere until you book in. It was ok staying for one night, but if we went back to the area I think we'd look for somewhere different next time.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LondonFlipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

It's a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. There's also nice wine and cheese everyday for guests.
The room is big, and the decoration and victorian style makes the place very cozy.
Location of the hotel is great too.
Only thing is the breakfast area is pretty small and there's a small passage there's no shelter from the lift to our room. Other than that, it's a perfect stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews