We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True to advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed two nights at this Inn at the start of October.

It is easily reached travelling into Monterey from the north, located on Foam Street which runs one way to the south. It is well placed about 2 blocks back, and within short walking distance, from Cannery Row. It has a large basement car park which is accessed from Foam Street. There are no designated carparks but on check-in you receive a parking pass to display on the car dash during your stay. There is a single (and somewhat slow) elevator from the basement to the upper levels but there is no trouble in getting luggage from the car to your room.

The check in desk and breakfast room is in a separate building from the accommodation, but again is easily accessible from the carpark.

Accommodation is in several blocks on two levels. The corridors look to have been refurbished recently and our room itself was very nicely set up and appointed. It had a gas open fireplace, ample work space and a bathroom and dressing area which allowed for one person to attend to showering while another dressed or dealt with make-up etc.

The bed in our room was king sized with mock period touches such as the head board, light fittings and side cabinets. This is probably not to everyone's taste but was in keeping with the "Victorian" theme of decoration. A small balcony was accessed off the sitting room.

Breakfast was served each morning in a room adjacent to the check-in desk and was limited but adequate. Juice/coffee/tea was available along with most options for a continental breakfast. It paid to be there on time because the staff seemed a little slow to replenish stock when it had been eaten.

Free wi-fi was available and easily connected to and a full package of television and movie entertainment was provided on demand.

The Inn was exactly as advertised, consistent with a dependable brand like Best Western. It was a comfortable and welcoming stop during our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in the suite which was very romantic. Beds were comfy and the shower with jets across from the shower head was great. Delicious breakfast with many hot and cold items included with your room. Great location being 2 blocks from Cannery Row and wonderful nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: The suite gave us lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Best Western early October and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and large with cathedral ceilings and a great marble fireplace. The front desk staff were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We had Jacqueline mostly and she gave us great advice on attractions, restaurants, and directions. We were also able to get tickets for the aquarium there which allows you to bypass the long lines at the aquarium. I would not recommend the aquarium, as a sidebar, was not that big or impressive.
The Best Western breakfast was very good, substantial. The other piece of advice is that the hotel is hard to get to depending where you are...there are several parallel roads that do not allow you to turn left and have to go farther out of your way to get back to the hotel so...use wave street when you are nearby.
Parking costs $13/night which is a disappointment that it is not free but it is a parking garage which is nice.
There are restaurants you can walk to near the hotel...Bulldog British Pub was wonderful and had mostly locals there playing cards and food great!.
All in all a great place.

Room Tip: They all appear equal to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Victorian Inn was very centrally located and walking distance to Cannery Row. It was also 10 minutes away from Pebble Beach and 2-3 blocks from Monterey Bay. The staff, parking, and breakfast were all great. Best feature was the evening happy hour with local wines.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear John S,

Thank you for your kind review of the Victorian Inn. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, our staff, and our complimentary breakfast. We love having the opportunity to share local wines with the visitors, and happy that you enjoyed one of our favorite unique offerings at the Victorian Inn. We look forward to having you back for another Monterey Bay adventure!

Regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband & I recently stayed her for 2 nights on our vacation. We had recently celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary so th hotel had a bottle of wine & chocolates for us which was very nice. We had a fireplace & a balcony which I used evey morning to have my morning coffee. This is 2 blocks from Cannery Row & we walked there each day. Many shops & resturants to choose from. Highly recommend this hotel. Their breakfast wasn't great for us but that isn't something that would keep me from staying here. No a/c in this hotel but was not a problem as it was cool at night and we slept with the patio door opened as we were on the 3rd floor. I would stay here again & again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Very peaceful in the mornings & evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had to reorganize our trip at the last minuet and considered ourselves lucky to find any hotel on Cannery Row. The beds were quite nice. Our room had a working fire place and a small balcony along with a refrigerator. Breakfast is okay - there are "plain omelettes" (from frozen egg patties), oat meal, cereal, muffins, etc. The staff was very friendly and the location is within walking distance of many of Monterey's attractions. Parking was free.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor to reduce noise. Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangosforaweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was a Travel Advisor pick. We spent the weekend in Monterey and needed three rooms for our family. Since it was a short trip we wanted to be close to Cannery Row, the Aquarium and the ocean walk through Pacific Grove to Lover's Point as well as Fisherman's Wharf and the City of Monterey. The location is two blocks from Cannery Row so it is central while located away from the noise on a very quiet street. The hotel check-in was efficient with the space allocated to the lobby very modest.They were able to accommodate our request for an early check-in since we arrived very early for two of the rooms. we were able to drop our bags and head to lunch on the wharf. All three rooms were next to each other on the second floor overlooking a courtyard. We were pleasantly surprised to find all the rooms had a fireplace and two very comfortable chairs. Breakfast was included and it was delicious with something for everyone.

Room Tip: if you have any disabilities you may want to request a room close to the lobby since the rooms are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbaloo-Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £101 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing