We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Hydesville, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Nice accommodations close to Cannery Row.
Upper king room includes a small refrigerator, large double-shower/jet tub and fireplace. The room is spacious and clean with a really comfortable bed.
Convenient location and a friendly staff; I'll stay here again if I'm ever back in Monterey...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    609
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
457
837
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a great time staying here in Monterey for the 1st time. We had a suite on the 1st floor overlooking the main road with a partial view of the sea between the roof line opposite. A 5 minute walk gets you to Cannery Row where we watched sea otters playing and feeding close to the bay edge (how cute are they!). Had no trouble in finding good places to eat, walk up to the road running behind the hotel and turn left or right and you find somewhere; it's that simple.
Also, it was nice to have off road parking (charges apply). The breakfast offer was better than some we were offered elsewhere and had no problem in finding a table to sit at; may be we picked the best time to visit. Overall a lovely place to stay.
By the way if you like birds you'll love watching the hummingbirds getting nectar from the trees in the courtyard; they are sooo tiny but amazing to watch. Added value maybe?

Room Tip: Nice views from 1st floor suites on front road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyCossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! The room was perfect for our stay ... plenty of room, clean, and inviting with a nice fireplace in the room. Since we mentioned it was our 1 year anniversary, we had a card, a bottle of wine and mini box of chocolate waiting for us which was a pleasant surprise :) Friendly staff and perfect location to Cannery Row. Nice breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights and to start off we were upgraded since it was our second time staying here. We ended up getting a suite which had to shower heads and a jacuzzi. The view from our balcony was a bit of a disappointment because all we could see was a big tree and you have to stand up to barely see anything else. It was on the third (top) floor so we could see the water and the courtyard area but if it wasn't for that tree would could have seen more. It was nice waking up both mornings and hearing the Sea Lions in the distance and a tiny bit of the water. The hotel grounds are a bit confusing. From our building we have to walk outside to go to the ice machine and use our key to get back into the same building. The main office and the breakfast area is in what looked liked at one time was a old Victorian house which was a great feeling walking into it every time.
The room itself was huge!! It had very tall ceilings, fireplace below the TV, huge desk, huge bed, a bit small sink area but plenty of space to move about. Also on our first day we received a free bottle of wine which made our stay even better!
Now the parking situation is a bit of a downer. First getting into the parking garage is a very steep driveway so if you have a low car its almost impossible getting in and out of it and its $13 to park which doesn't make any sense since we are already paying for the room. Although being so close to the tourist areas it is cheap and on your last day you are able to park there until 4pm.
The Best Western Plus Victorian Inn is a great place to stay if your visiting Cannery Row and other areas. It doesn't cost a lot compared to the other hotels in the area and you still are able to experience being near the water even though its two blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We so much enjoyed our first stay here, we made reservations again. We were greeted promptly and our room was perfect. We had one on the first floor with a small patio looking into a garden. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast had everything anyone could want. Hot cooked food, cerals, fruit, pastries etc. We will stay again on our next trip! Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back unit away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear XK140NUT,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Victorian Inn. I’m so glad your first experience here was so wonderful that you decided to stay with us again. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from our friendly staff to our delicious breakfasts. I can’t wait to welcome you back for a third stay at the Victorian Inn.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice place within a couple of blocks of cannery row. The wine and cheese evening reception was nice and the free breakfast was better than expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided a couple of nice extra when they found out it was my birthday. They were much better than you typically find these days. Rooms have a nice gas fireplace, beds are pretty comfortable, and there's free wifi. Parking is $13 for the night which is cheaper than you'll find in the neighborhood in general. (People have mentioned that street parking is available if you want to deal with the hassles of parking meters, but I can't see that being cost/time effective.) As for "value" at $229/night this seems kind of high in general, however, remember that you're in California where most everything if over-priced and you're in a tourist district so what you're paying for is the location near cannery row--and you get the wine and cheese reception and a decent breakfast so those count towards the value too. If you want to stay cheaper there are $90 hotels downtown or further away. But we thought this was a pretty good place for a romantic weekend birthday getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here on spec - booked in for the Sunday night and decided to stay on until Tuesday. Front desk were great, gave us a great deal on the room although weekdays usually much pricier. Fireplace in room a bonus. Noisy road and walls a bit thin ;-), but on the whole a good find. Nice breakfast. Location perfect for cannery row.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you and you like to sleep with an open window, make sure you are not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing