We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Must stay hotel”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Loved this hotel would recommend it to anyone, it was a wonderful getaway, quiet, friendly, room had balcony, fireplace which made it very cozy, short walk to Monterey Cannery Row, Aquarium, shops and resutrants

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    615
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
462
847
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We checked in late, but were met by cheerful service. We stopped briefly for the wine and cheese (which although wasn't to our Aussie tastes, was a very welcoming touch) before walking down to Cannery Row for dinner.

The hotel room was very clean, comfortable and gave us the best sleep either of us have had on our 2 week US holiday so far!

Room Tip: Even though our room was on the front street, it wasn't loud at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

On our Pacific Coast highway trip, we stopped in Monterey at this charming Inn for one night. The rooms were Victorian-style era with a fireplace in the bedroom and a lovely little balcony. We felt spoiled to be there. The breakfast was delicious and wi-fi super simple -- walking distance to all the restaurants and local attractions we wanted to visit. We were delighted beyond our expectations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

When you book a room here, and "total cost" is shown, it does NOT include an additional, undisclosed, $13 per day parking fee. I have no problem with a hotel charging parking fees, but not showing this on the reservation is not a transparent way to do business. In hundreds of stays at motels for business and pleasure, have never run into this before.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyInns, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate to hear that you were unaware of the parking fee. Please let us know how you made your reservation so we can research the issue further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we visit Monterey. You can't beat the location (walk to Cannery Row) and the service (breakfast and wine/cheese). The staff are very courteous and friendly. The rooms are clean. Our large pet also enjoys her visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyInns, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We love all pets large and small! Thank you for visiting and sharing your comments about your recent stay! We hope to welcome you and your pet back to the Victorian Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent two nights in the Cannery Row area of Monterey staying one night at the BW Plus Victorian Inn. The location was within walking distance to Cannery Row shops and restaurants. The property is made up of several connected buildings so depending on which room you stay, there may be a long walk and some stairs/elevator to your room. Our room was a little bigger than a standard hotel room and had a high vaulted ceiling and a fireplace which were a nice plus. What made our stay even better was the welcoming breakfast in the morning in the "living room-like" dining area. The main lobby and dining area for the complimentary breakfast were very nicely appointed especially at Christmas time. The attached photo is of our daughter while we enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBSTRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very clean hotel with fireplaces in most rooms adds a nice cozy touch. Great location, walking distance to Cannery Row restaurants, bars and shops we well as walking distance to the aquarium. Great restaurant across the street, something Fish Market...Kind of hole in the wall place but worth checking out. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was nothing to brag about, I'd probably skip it next time. Rooms were a little pricey at $150 (and that was with my government employee discount) but that's monterey for you...I would go back here for sure and reccommend it to anyone looking for an easy place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing