We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking fees and aggravation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was clean and attractive, well above average. The desk staff was efficient and friendly. It should have been pleasant stay, but it wasn’t.

After you’ve made your reservations, they add $14.00 per night for parking. This was not shown during the process of reserving the room and not listed on the email confirmation from Best Western, which specifically said that there will be no additional fees at check-in. I eventually got the parking fee removed but not without some aggravation.

The Best Western site lists free high speed internet. Internet is free, but high speed costs $3.99 a day extra.

Our room had a nice gas fireplace. The instructions were in a dark corner attached to the wall just above floor level. The only thing I could read was “STOP – IMPORTANT Use Fireplace at Your Own Risk! Read Instructions Completely Before Proceeding!”.

After checking in, you are expected to schlep your parking permit back out to the car. They have a disclaimer on the front of the card, followed by “PLEASE READ TERMS ON REVERSE”. The reverse is blank.

Their breakfast room is too small for the number of people trying to use it and the problem was aggravated by having some of the table space occupied by dirty dishes. There is no provision for guests to clear tables themselves.

This is a nice enough hotel, but they should be up-front about the parking fee and I don’t think it’s being well managed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to see the Cannery and Wharf. Cannery 2 blocks away and Wharf 20 min walk. Very friendly staff. Deluxe room very nice, however bathroom small and could be updated. Courtyard is narrow and the patios are very small. Also there is an additional $14 a day charge for parking that was not clear when I booked the reservation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NEColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Room and atmosphere were great. Totally enjoyed the fire place and balcony. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was warm and friendly. Totally enjoyed our stay. Hotel location was right in the middle of everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have stayed here before and stayed for President's Day weekend. When we got to the room there was a "Welcome Back Note" with a bottle of wine with chocolates and Valentine's Day candy. Pretty nice for a Best Western Plus!

The staff was all super friendly. The front desk people were always extremely helpful, pleasant, cheerful and knowledgeable about the area. The food service staff and cleaning staff were all also very nice and always smiling.

The room was huge, clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The only ding for not getting 5 stars is the bath is outdated. The tiles in the bath look 20 years old and the shower heads (1 hand hold) were out dated.

The breakfast was good - maybe a little more selection and it would get 5 stars too.

The location is perfect - a 5 min walk to the Aquarium and 10 minute walk to the wharf. And just a block up the hill to Lighthouse Ave with lots of local eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Nice place and a good deal the location is perfect it had a gas fireplace in the room and a complementary bottle of wine in the room. Monterey is a very romantic place everything was in walking distance. One day we drove to Carmel and walked around

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A wonderful, comfortable place to stay. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was very nice, the location was great. Very nice ambiance with a gas fireplace in the room which made it very cozy. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

They just do it all correctly, politely, and quickly. They totally have their act together at this location and we cannot ask for more, but somehow they seem to continue to surprise us every time we stay with them. Really the best!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £91 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing