We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, unique hotel in great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique hotel in great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night on our way to San Francisco. They upgraded us to a suite which was very clean and cozy!
We wish we had spent more time in Monterey and in our suite. The hotel has great character and the staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was just "ok" but I'm not the best judge of that since I don't care for continental breakfasts in general.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sciera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    612
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
460
839
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is located only about two blocks from Cannery Row and only a few more from the aquarium; all within easy walking distance. The hotel has underground parking, but you will pay $14/night for this amenity. The Staff is efficient and accommodating, actually checking in two people at the same time, so check in, even on a Friday was pretty easy. Kudos to the desk staff. The hotel offers a wine and cheese hour between 4:30 and 5:30. The wines were not overly great, but it is a nice touch and you cannot expect that much for free. The hotel served a full breakfast each morning, and it was clearly better than I even expected. There is only so much that you can do with microwave cooking, so they did a good job with their limitations.

The room that we had was in the rear building; one that I specifically chose. It had a balcony and a fireplace. The fireplace was gas and the instructions said to keep the sliding door cracked open, which seemed kind of silly since it was a bit cold outside and we used the FP to help warm the room....so if you have to crack open the slider, then the cold air just comes in. Anyway, on the second night, we lit up the FP and the room filled up with smoke and set off the smoke alarm. The flue instructions say that it is permanently "open", so I am not sure what happened but we couldn't use the FP that night. The first night, the toilet kept running, so it was noisy. We let the desk know about the FP because it was dangerous, not because we wanted anything from them. The desk person responded with an "I'm sorry you had those problems" and informed us that they would not be charging us for the $14 for parking for either night. I was highly impressed, because I was clearly not complaining, just informing them of the problems so that they could fix them. Thus, I give management an A+ for handling the issue without even being asked. Overall, this is an excellent location. Portions of the hotel are a bit dated, but I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this to anyone, as it is a good choice.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the rear building facing in towards the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western Victorian Inn, which turned out to be a 4 night stay instead of 3 nights, for good reason. We booked a premier room that included a lovely gas fireplace, hot tub, big window seating area, large mounted flat panel TV and a comfy king sized bed. Another welcome surprise was the gorgeous views of the ocean that could be seen through several of our large windows. The huge room was very clean and well appointed. The included breakfast was very good and included several hot items as well as cold choices and plenty of beverage items. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Victorian Inn was just a few blocks away from Cannery Row, the Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and several choices for dining/shopping which made it possible for us to walk everywhere we wanted or needed (even a CVS was within walking distance to purchase bottled water, snacks, etc.). But, I DO have a few caveats. The parking fee of $14 a day was really not made clear to us upon booking our room. Also, the hot tub in the room was only suitable for one, which was very disappointing to us. All in all, I would definitely recommend the Victorian Inn to anyone looking to stay close to one of the most beautiful locales in the world.

Room Tip: We chose a top floor (3rd) room because it was quieter. Also, the corner rooms seem to be more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Victorian Inn offers a good option for a stay in Monterey near the Aquarium at a reasonable price. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast substantial. Victorian Inn is my choice when I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank MLWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Room was nice clean, service and location by cannery row was great. The rate was a bit pricey but it was valentines day. Other than that everything was great and the location cant be beat. Fireplace is very nice and service is top notch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
previse
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was clean and attractive, well above average. The desk staff was efficient and friendly. It should have been pleasant stay, but it wasn’t.

After you’ve made your reservations, they add $14.00 per night for parking. This was not shown during the process of reserving the room and not listed on the email confirmation from Best Western, which specifically said that there will be no additional fees at check-in. I eventually got the parking fee removed but not without some aggravation.

The Best Western site lists free high speed internet. Internet is free, but high speed costs $3.99 a day extra.

Our room had a nice gas fireplace. The instructions were in a dark corner attached to the wall just above floor level. The only thing I could read was “STOP – IMPORTANT Use Fireplace at Your Own Risk! Read Instructions Completely Before Proceeding!”.

After checking in, you are expected to schlep your parking permit back out to the car. They have a disclaimer on the front of the card, followed by “PLEASE READ TERMS ON REVERSE”. The reverse is blank.

Their breakfast room is too small for the number of people trying to use it and the problem was aggravated by having some of the table space occupied by dirty dishes. There is no provision for guests to clear tables themselves.

This is a nice enough hotel, but they should be up-front about the parking fee and I don’t think it’s being well managed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank previse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to see the Cannery and Wharf. Cannery 2 blocks away and Wharf 20 min walk. Very friendly staff. Deluxe room very nice, however bathroom small and could be updated. Courtyard is narrow and the patios are very small. Also there is an additional $14 a day charge for parking that was not clear when I booked the reservation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NEColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing