We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid property good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid property good location”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I think we have stayed here at least 6 times. First with kids, now on our own. Breakfast buffet is basic, but has something for everyone. Rooms are nice and fairly quiet. The building is 3 stories, the higher up you stay the nicer the room. Upper rooms have a small view of the bay. Everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    630
    154
    50
    25
See reviews for
485
875
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sardinia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

myself and wife are a couple of work horses and every time we get away for a short trip we try to pick the most pleasant hotel and the Victorian Inn was the right place for us the staff was very helpful and pleasant the minute we walked through the front door at other hotels your just a room # but with these folks you would feel right at home...we will continue to book future reservations

Room Tip: 3rd floor definitely the most quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night for a quick get away. This is not a typical Best Western; it's more like a B&B. They offer wine, cheese & crackers for an hour each afternoon and serve a hot breakfast in the morning (pre-made omelets, french toast & sausage) along with the usual pre-packaged muffins, bananas and cold cereals. The hotel is charming with the public room (wine reception & breakfast) off the lobby but quaint and comfortable. The front desk clerk was very nice, helpful and pleasant. She upgraded us to an "inside" room; aka not street-side. Our king room (#304) had a very comfortable bed, nice linens, a sitting area with a fireplace, updated furniture, a small balcony overlooking the courtyard, small fridge and coffee maker. Loved that the room featured 2 sink areas, one outside the bathroom which allowed us each to get ready without disturbing the other. While parking is extra at $14 a day, they allow you to park in the underground garage for up to 4 hours after check out. The Best Western website has a best price guarantee and we felt that the Sunday, AAA rate of $126 was very reasonable. The hotel is in a great location (2 blocks from the center of Cannery Row). Great seafood restaurant (Sea Harvest) one block away and the walking path along the waterfront goes all the way to Asilomar. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This Inn is the best. Walk to Cannery Row, the Aquarium, and the Fishermans Row as well as many places to eat and the beach. They will always take time to help you with reservations, directions and any information you need. Clearly, this Inn is here to give its guests the best stay in the area. The guests are their first priority. See you there!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very nice stay. Excellent room, street side room was no problem at all. Two blocks from Cannery Row. Breakfast was not too good, cold and rubbery eggs/sausage. Paying for parking fruastrating, but has to be done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This property is conveniently located to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and to restaurants and a local grocery store. The property was clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the two high backed chairs and gas fireplace made a nice little conversation area.

There is an afternoon wine and cheese reception and the breakfast wasmore than I expected. Everyone I encountered was pleasant and helpful.

A word of warning. The parking garage is located underneath the property and the entrance has a very steep downgrade from the street. The bottom of a vehicle easily drags on the concrete.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasant view, utah
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Victorian Inn is particularly well-suited for a pleasure trip to Monterey, California. It is centrally located and within walking distance from most attractions in Cannery Row and the Fisherman's Wharf areas. The breakfast is substantial and it's a great way to start the day at a considerable savings from restaurant prices. The hotel staff members couldn't be more pleasant. This general, very favorable assessment of the Victorian Inn results from numerous stays at the hotel over the past 25 years. Book a reservation at the Victorian Inn with the assurance that it will be a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jetjock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing