We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Plus Victorian. I had a premier room on the 3rd floor which was a very good sized room with vaulted ceilings and nicely appointed. Wonderful view of the courtyard and ocean. Loved the double separate sinks in the bathroom area. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank HorseLovinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Overall I found this hotel very charming and not the usual cookie cutter Best Western. The breakfast was very good. The room was a little cold for my taste with laminate flooring vs carpet. We also had an issue with our heat and it made it feel even colder in the room. I will say the staff was wonderful and accommodations were made regarding the issue with our heat. I would definitely consider staying here again. If you have mobility issues, I would call and make sure you can somehow get to the lobby. The elevator from the underground parking garage doesn't easily get you to the lobby. I think there are several stairs you need to walk down or up to get to the lobby. I cannot be sure though so check with the hotel before you book if this is an issue for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennlarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found our location to be charming and would like to thank you for pointing out our exemplary staff. We are sincerely sorry to hear that there was an issue with your heater, but were happy that our staff was able accommodate you so promptly. We also wanted to mention that there is accessibility for our guests who are handicap with a parking area located right behind the registration area. This particular location provides direct access to the lobby. From the registration area, the elevators are a short distance away. Our mission is to try to accommodate all our guests, so that they may all enjoy what Monterey has to offer. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Management at the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here recently. It's in a great location close to Cannery Row. The rooms are large and well furnished and our room had a pretty unique double shower with two shower heads. The staff were extra helpful and friendly. The breakfast that is included with the room is plentiful and varied and they offer free cheese and wine every afternoon. A great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeanddani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Enjoyed stay here very much. It's within a few blocks of Cannery Row and assorted attractions. Also a bike/walking path which is very nice. Breakfast typical Best Western Plus, good although lacking a bit in breakfast cereal choices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank VicenteFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel was VERY clean (white down comforters) and I am quite picky about the cleanliness of where I stay. The bed was very comfortable and the overall space in the room was great. There are great perks of free internet & the TV was large and great. Breakfast was decent. The hotel is only a few blocks from the aquarium and Cannery Row and was in a prime spot. We only have 2 very MINOR complaints: (1) we could hear a LITTLE through the walls, though couldn't make out what anyone was saying; and (2) the shower head was very low as we are pretty tall people. I'd definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We chose the hotel based on reviews and value. The Victorian Inn in Monterey was nicely detailed, clean and comfortable. The hotel has enclosed parking and is located a brief walk from Cannery Row. The lack of an ocean view is more than made up by the large room with fireplace and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights March 24 -26 2014. Check in went smooth and we were very happy with our room, we were in room 310 and had a view of Monterey Bay. I was impressed with the size of the room and fireplace, although we did not use it. We had a small veranda but since it rained we did not sit out. The location was perfect to go to Aquarium and to take 17 mile drive. Breakfast room was nicely set up and food met our expectations. The only negative for us was the bed, the mattress should be replaced. Also could have used more blankets or a better comforter. All in all I would stay here again and recommend it. Parking was extra but I knew that in advance and actually was easier than parking in the downtown area where parking spots were limited.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tripster65_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £101 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing