We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine and Cheese”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Barstow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine and Cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Don't miss the wine and cheese served daily from 4:30 to 5:30 in the lobby. Nice after a long drive. The room was clean, bed comfortable and I had plenty of pillows. Breakfast was ok nothing special. Just cereal, yogurt, French toast, sausage, plain omlets, bananas and bagels etc. Location was great we walked to everything, however the $14.00 you pay for parking is a bit much. Loved Cannery row.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerNBarstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    616
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
462
848
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

room was great for our romantic getaway, nice fireplace, nice bed, location was great to cannery row and to the flower fields and 17mile drive, stopped at a jewelry shop saw specially made ring my girlfriend liked...she wants to go back again only spent a day there and the drive to San Francisco was a great drive

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your girlfriend had such a wonderful stay with us. It is true, one night is never enough with so much to see in and around Monterey. We hope to welcome you both back for another romantic weekend!

Warmest Regards

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

When you see the pictures, you may think of a small charming hotel with Victorian décor. Well, the breakfast room is, but... the hotel itself is a BIG Best Western, with that "chain hotel" feel all over. The location, service and room are all good, for a fair price -- that could be better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have spent time here a few times and it is always wonderful. Great food, great bed, nice fireplace and it's quiet! It is walking distance from Cannery Row and the aquarium. The staff is accommodating and professional. Just make your reservation in advance--they sell out! Only bummer is the $14/day parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Best Western Plus Victorian Inn in Monterey is a very nice place to stay and an enjoyable experience. Each room has a gas fireplace, a small refridgerator, coffee maker and a patio or balcony with two chairs and a table. The location is perfect for walking along Cannery Row and the hiking/biking trail which is just one block to the North. The Monterey Bay Aquarium is a short 5 minute walk from the motel. The complimentary breakfast is done well and offers a variety of both hot and other items. Staff is helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JimtheFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The room is large, it is dated but very well maintained, the gas fireplace was very pleasant, tv is large but channels are limited and not HD ( but didn't come to Monterey to watch TV), after reading the "bad" reviews all at least a year old, it would seem the management has addressed any issues previously mentioned. ( not sure about A/C to cold for that) very good stay, walking distance to cannery row and the aquarium, shopping and food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and want to thank you for noticing that we are always listening to our guest’s feedback, which we consider one of the most valuable tools we have for improving our hotel and our service. We are continually investing back into our properties and have made substantial upgrades this past year, with more to come. We agree, with so much to do in Monterey few come to watch TV, but we happily provide all our guests with 42’’ flat screen televisions if they wish to do so. We hope to welcome you back soon for another pleasant stay.

Best Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valley Springs, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We always have enjoyed our stays at the Victorian. The cordial greetings by the staff from the time we registered until we checked out plus the outstanding quality of our room makes our stay superb.. The added touch of wine and chocolates in the suite was enjoyed immensely. Bravo to the hotel and thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We want to thank you for all your compliments of our hotel and staff. They will be so excited to hear your comments. Our friendly staff, amenities, and little touches are all reasons we hope our guests continue to choose us as their hotel of choice in Monterey. We hope to welcome you back soon and assist in creating countless more memories.

Warmest Regards,

Management at the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing