We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western= Best priced and best located hotel in Monterey.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Western= Best priced and best located hotel in Monterey.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed there on the 24th of june while up in Monterey for the night. Ok checked in and apparantly i had told the Hotel it was my girlfriends birthday, we get to our room and found that the hotel left a bottle of wine, a very nice card and a little box of cholcoates for my girlfriend. The room was spacious and had a working fireplace (very romanatic). The ceeling was probably over 20 feet high, the bed was comfortable and best of all our patio had an ocean view (room 222). The hotel staff was way to nice, i was suprised how great the customer service was. The hotel had free Wine and cheese at 4:30 and trust me we enjoyed that. The hotel shower pressure we great and our stay was comfortable. There was no air conditioning however the ocean brezze kept the room cool all night, so none was needed and it was over 80 degrees outside. Overall the stay was absolutely outstanding. My only minor issue with the hotel was the underground parking driveway was so steep the bottom of my sedan scraped as i was exiting the parking structure. Maybe had i gone out at an angle it would not have happened. oH AND i almost forgot, the free breakfast in the morning was more then i thought, eggs, sausage, toast, crissounts, pasteries, mufflins, french toast, ceral, orange juice, coffee, tea, lemonade, apple jucie, fruit and yogurt was perfect and saved us the cost of buying breakfast. Will stay there again! LEss then $150 was a steal of a deal, not to mention Cannery row, fishermand warf, beach and aquarium was within a 5-10 minuete walking distance of the hotel so parking is no issue.

Room Tip: Pick room 222, has an ocean view, fireplace and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    637
    157
    50
    25
See reviews for
492
882
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a room with two double beds. They were comfortable, but quite narrow. The room itself was spacious and charming with a fireplace, but even though it was nice and clean you can feel it's getting worn. This is even more apparent in the rest of the hotel. 

Staff were friendly, there was good wi-fi and a decent breakfast. But why you have to pay extra (14 $) for parking, I don't understand. 

Location is good. 5-10 walk to the aquarium. 

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Overall a good location and hotel. Not the cheapest options, but can happily recommend.
Everyone was friendly and had no problems. Bed and room was comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable. Nice bonus of getting complimentary wine and cheese in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Centralized location to everything, very friendly staff and most importantly.. PET FRIENDLY so that our little one felt comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Fireplace in the room made it nice and cozy at night. Easy walk to beach, shopping and the pier..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We want thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Victorian Inn. We always strive to not only make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable, but also our pet visitors as well. We are appreciative that you noticed the small touches that our staff offers to try to make all of our guests stay delightful. We cannot wait to welcome you all back!

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stay at the Victorian Inn at least two times per year for business. I have done this for the past 4 years and have never had a bad stay. It is well situated near Cannery Row and good restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I recommend the complimentary wine and cheese tasting every day from 4:30-5:30. It is a great way to unwind and get ready for your evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for continually choosing to stay with us while on business and for the kind comments you have shared. As you noted, our wine and cheese receptions are great way for our guests to relax before an evening out exploring Monterey. We are pleased that our staff has always been helpful and accommodating during your stays and will be sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will get the opportunity to stay with us for leisure in the future.

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights on our honeymoon and were upgraded to a deluxe room on the third floor. There was a fireplace but no key to turn on the gas! The floor near the bathroom was uneven and made me nervous to walk in certain spots. The toilet got plugged up and when the maintenance man came he said here are some towels and a plunger and THEN HE WALKED AWAY! That was ridiculous. A second call downstairs brought him back and he did his job then. There is separate parking for handicapped but the area is abused allowing employees to park here and even a delivery truck. The breakfast was good including eggs, french toast, sausage, fruit, pastries, cereal, etc. It was near tourist attractions but I honestly don't think I'd go back here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are very appreciative of your comments and feedback, as it is allows us our best opportunity to improve on the accommodations, services, and amenities we offer. We are disappointed and sincerely sorry that there were several issues that impacted your honeymoon stay with us. Please rest assured your comments have been reviewed with our housekeeping and maintenance team stressing how these types of situations impact the guest experience. This is certainly not our service standard and are disappointed that you experienced this as our guest on such a special occasion. Although we have two separate ADA designated areas, employees are not allowed to park in them. However, your comments have been shared with our team. Again, thank you for your review, as we believe honest comments such as yours are vital to our continued improvement.

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is a great value in a touristy (expensive) area. It's in a great location near Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. You are walking distance to attractions, shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the 2nd floor room. The room had two double beds, window seats, large tv screen, fireplace, and desk. The room was comfortable, large and clean. The carpets could use a shampoo. Minus one star for street noise. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the streets. Traffic starts at 7 a.m. and is quite noisy until 9 p.m.

The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast buffet between 7 a.m. - 10 a.m., and complimentary wine and cheese at 4:30 p.m.

Two minor quibbles: menu for room service is not current and the shower heads are not removable. The hotel needs to post instructions on how to adjust the shower heads. You need to pull a round knob to adjust which shower head is used.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Victorian Inn. We are very fortunate to be in such close proximity to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium, as it allows our guests the opportunity to explore both. While we were happy to find out that you were upgraded to a deluxe room, we are disappointed that you had a less than entirely delightful stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms, which we will surely take under review. We are pleased to share that we are planning bathroom renovations, which will begin this year, as we are currently in the process of creating a model bathroom as our template for the upcoming renovation. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to experience the changes firsthand.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing