We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,964)
Filter reviews
1,964 results
Traveller rating
1,002
705
174
55
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
705
174
55
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesecannery rowgreat locationfoam streetgas fireplacewithin walking distanceparking feecrackerstwo sinksfamily suitetwo blocksbest westernsthe monterey bay aquariumsmall balconynice breakfastcontinental breakfaststreet side
Filter
Updating list...
1,704 - 1,709 of 1,964 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2009

4th time we staid here because the parking is more reasonable than other hotels and it is walking distance to Aquarium, Cannery Row, Beach, and favorite restaurants. Great escape for hot summer climates.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The Victorian Inn is just one block up from Cannery Row and you can walk to everything! Even though we paid the lowest price, our room was on the top floor and the small balcony allowed us to see a peek of the bay and sit out and enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean. Each room had a fireplace and featherbed and in-room coffee. The wine/cheese hour, while minimal, is a nice touch. Same with the breakfast. Considering the price of a restaurant meal in the area, it's nice to kick off the day with a free breakfast. We would definitely stay here again. The one drawback is the $12 additional charge per day for parking. However, we arrived early in the morning (waaaay before check-in) and they had no problem with us parking there. The same for the day we left. We checked out at 11am, but left the car there until much later that night before heading home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outofideas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My wife and I, 13 year old son, twin 3 year old daughters.........

Generally we enjoyed our stay and our suite. For nearly $300 per night (plus $12 per night parking) however, we would have preferred better quality bath towels, a shower that did not leak/spray water onto the floor and a hair dryer that was operational. The TVs in the rooms had questionable reception on several of the channels however we weren't there to watch TV so this wasn't much of an issue. The welcoming wine and chocolate was a nice touch however as we're a non-drinking family we brought the wine home to a family member. Perhaps a choice could be made at reservation time? My wife did not care for the bed however I didn't have a problem with it. There's no A/C in the rooms and fans would have helped - we did not ask for them however and they may be available. They put us on the second floor - we have twin 3 year old daughters that made noise as they ran around the room, certainly, I'm sure, affecting the quality of stay for those below us despite our best efforts to keep our kids quiet. We're new to travel as a whole family and that's something we'll be on the look out for in the future and had not considered until then. The front desk could be better informed about local dining spots however that might be as much a function of their young age as anything and certainly there's other ways to check out local spots. It's always helpful to have a little local "in" though. The room itself was very nice, and we appreciated the various points of access, particularly the proximity to breakfast. The complimentary breakfast layout was nice too, especially in terms of variety for my family. Also, the location was good - plenty close enough to walk to the aquarium and Cannery Row and, if you don't mind a bit of a trek, close enough too to Fisherman's Wharf. I think addressing some or all of the above would have moved our stay to the excellent column and left us thinking we got more than a reasonable value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix090699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

and that is that the room where breakfast is served too small is to accomodate all the people. But free breakfast was nice and the wine/cheese reception was something I have never encountered before and was of good quality. Location is close to cannery row and for fysically normal people you can even walk to fisherman's wharf. Room are spacious and have evrything you need. Hotel has big parking garage.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Lovely old style Hotel in walking distance to Cannery Row,Monterey Aquarium and Fishermans Wharf.THE hotel does run a cheese and wine afternoon which we did not attend but looks nice and and the complimenaty breakfast although not brilliant will set you up for the day.
Be aware they do charge you for Parking but you will pay to park in Monterey so depending on your plans its no big deal.
Hotel has no swimming Pool which disappointed the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews