We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,969)
Filter reviews
1,969 results
Traveller rating
1,005
706
174
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
706
174
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese cannery row great location foam street gas fireplace within walking distance parking fee crackers two sinks family suite two blocks best westerns the monterey bay aquarium small balcony nice breakfast continental breakfast street side
Filter
Updating list...
1,696 - 1,701 of 1,969 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2009

great location - midway between Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium and old Monterey. many walk-to stores. restaurants, and shops. i did not have private transportation (no car).
the room i had was a king, ground floor. i occasionally heard the occupants in the room above me when they walked heavily, typical of older properties. every staff member i encountered acknowledged and greeted me.
recently renovated rooms so carpets were fairly new, as well as decor bedding. the fireplace was a nice touch, but didn't use it (summer). would stay there again. typical continental type breakfast available. due to the nature of my stay, i dined out. i did not assess whether there was a restaurant or room service available, but inclined to say no. very perfunctory without the luxury. (previous reviews indicated animal smells in elevators, no indication of that due to no carpeting in elevator from carpark).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlyskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

The bad: The designated "dog room" we stayed in was terrible. The floor was some kind of laminated plastic. Every time we or our dog turned around in the small room, we slipped. I requested a throw rug but was told they had none. I didn't want to touch the bedspread. The tiny balcony (I mean TINY) overlooked a very busy street, traffic going all day and all night.

The good: Very decent simple breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese in a nice Victorian room, and very good complementary coffee. We were suppose to stay six nights and the management very graciously let us leave after two nights without extra charge.

My suggestion: Skip Monterey altogether and go to the much nicer and not any pricier Carmel. It is beautiful and pet friendly rooms are abundant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfloverSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM_8, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

We appreciate our guest’s comments concerning their room experience. Feedback is always welcome and considered to be of significant value to our business. Our pet-friendly rooms have a laminate floor rather than carpet. We have chosen this type of flooring in order to offer a more hygienic experience for our guests. Again, we appreciate the guest’s comments.

General Manager
Victorian Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We were recommened to stay at the Victorian Inn by friends. I searched the internet for other hotels for prices but I found that the Victorian Inn had the best price and we are so glad we stayed there. It is our intent to recommened your Hotel to all our friends and family even strangers.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilike2moveitmoveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed just one night during the week, and we were very happy.
The staff was always very helpful and very nice to us. When we arrived, they upgraded us to the top floor with spa. The room was in the building in the back, not on the street - so it was quiet. The room was spacious, neat. The bathroom was great, the shower / spa was very much appreciated. The location was great!
There is a fee for parking in their garage, US$12. However, given the fact that you are within easy walking distance of Cannery Row and the Aquarium, and the fact that nearby garages were charging up to US$20 per day, it is a good deal, Especially because they let you keep your car there even on the check-out day. You can buy tickets for the Aquarium at the reception: same price as the ones purchased directly at the Aquarium but valid for 2 days. I understand that is not a unique arrangement, probably you can do that in any hotel in Monterey.
They have a wine-and-cheese welcome event every day between 4 and 6 pm. I just made it after a 2-hour run, so I was starving and I was thirsty, and the buffet was a perfect post-run recovery snack. (there is wine, cheese, but also lemonade, coffee, fruit, different kinds of crackers).
What most pleasantly surprised us was breakfast: true, it is continental breakfast, but still you could get boiled eggs and instead of the stale muffins you often find in such places there were some very yummy muffins, rich in grains and raisins, made locally.
BTW, Longs is just one block away, so if you need water or snacks get them there: as usual, charges for the in-room bar were outrageous.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSkyRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Like most of Monterey, the Best Western Victorian Inn is way over-priced. We went on this very busy last weekend, and prices were way jacked-up to $359/night. We had no choice. Once you swallow hard and reluctantly agree to pay luxury 5 star resort room rates for this very standard hotel, you will find the gouging is not yet over. Bringing your pet? That will be another $30 a night, please. Need to park your car? Another $12 a day, thank you very much. Don’t forget the 10% daily room tax on an already exorbitant room rate. Oh, and the 10% daily tax your dog must pay to stay here. There is also a daily tourist charge of 50 cents or so. When you leave here, you will feel cheated, and nickel and dimed to death. At the rate they charge, you would think the parking or pet stay would be included, or at least the daily taxes. You might hope to get the-promised real queen-sized beds instead of the miniscule double beds. Or perhaps at least the top notch linens, towels, toiletries one expects for these rates. You might hope to not hear the children above you running about at 6 a.m. like a herd of buffalo. The teeny patio might be a nice amenity on a warm evening (rare in Monterey) if it wasn’t directly facing a noisy, busy one-way street. The gas fireplace put out a few little weak blue flames so we just turned it off. The refrigerator was so loud, we had to unplug it at night. They did manage to provide a bowl of unnamed dog kibble (which you will only throw out as you don’t want to risk changing diets on a traveling animal), a tiny bottle of red wine and a couple of chocolates. If you are hungry in the morning, skip the included breakfast which is only toast, bits of fruit, and some cereal packages.

I have a feeling you better be bringing the "right" kind of pet, too, as they came out and really gave our black Lab the once over. I was ready for them to prod open her mouth and look at her teeth. If you are coming with a "bully breed" you better ask first, or you might get turned away. They don't say what the "restrictions" are up-front.

On the plus side, you will be comfortable enough here. It’s clean and nicely appointed. The quite standard rooms are nice enough. Location is great and you can walk just a few blocks to cannery row and subject yourself to even more rip-offs. The afternoon wine and cheese is quite nice.

For the price you will pay here, you may be better off paying a few more bucks and staying at a true 5 star resort hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DlovesLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews