We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,974)
Filter reviews
1,974 results
Traveller rating
1,008
707
175
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,008
707
175
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese cannery row great location foam street gas fireplace within walking distance parking fee crackers two sinks family suite every afternoon two blocks best westerns the monterey bay aquarium small balcony nice breakfast continental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,697 - 1,702 of 1,974 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Over all very charming. A bit out-dated in areas such as TV and VHS players. Would have been nice to have a DVD player. Had to keep the patio door open for air anf there was a lot of strret noise at times.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbobpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel is fantastic, the room was very clean and the decor was very nice and had a wonderful feeling of home away from home. The staff was very courteous and the location is great. I stayed with a friend for one night and the price was very resonable for us to split. The only complaint I have is that the street noise can be loud during certain hours, which I realize the hotel can not control. Overall I had a very wonderful experience and I would definately stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We planned a weekend trip to the Monterey Aquarium, and this place ultimately won out because of the reasonable rates and the convenient location. We ended up paying about $175 a night, which was comparable to other hotels. But we could walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium, which was really nice after a long car trip from Southern California. The free continental breakfast was pretty decent (bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit) and the afternoon wine, cheese, and crackers was a nice touch. It's not quality food, but it was fine and convenient.

The main downside to the hotel was that the rooms did not have A/C. In Monterey, the weather is usually cool enough to not need it, but it was a hot August weekend, and we were uncomfortably warm at certain points. Also, it's true that the walls are thin. We heard what sounded like three children running around on the floor above around 11pm. We're heavy sleepers, so it didn't keep us awake, but it was definitely noticeable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everydaytraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The staff was friendly and informative. The room was wonderful. We arrived with a 60# dog and were quite pleased with both the size of the room and the Inn. Great breakfast! Can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmasimonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

great location - midway between Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium and old Monterey. many walk-to stores. restaurants, and shops. i did not have private transportation (no car).
the room i had was a king, ground floor. i occasionally heard the occupants in the room above me when they walked heavily, typical of older properties. every staff member i encountered acknowledged and greeted me.
recently renovated rooms so carpets were fairly new, as well as decor bedding. the fireplace was a nice touch, but didn't use it (summer). would stay there again. typical continental type breakfast available. due to the nature of my stay, i dined out. i did not assess whether there was a restaurant or room service available, but inclined to say no. very perfunctory without the luxury. (previous reviews indicated animal smells in elevators, no indication of that due to no carpeting in elevator from carpark).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlyskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews