We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We arrived into Monterey late in the evening and had no hotel booked as we were just passing through on a road trip from San Francisco to Vegas. It was a Saturday night and most hotels were full or wanted crazy money for the night. We finally came to the Victoria and I was delighted when reception said they had availability and offered us a b&b rate of usd139. The room was really big/cozy/warm......just what we needed after a day in the car. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I'm a travel agent and normally stay clear of Best Western hotels but this was a great find and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asho36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    616
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
462
848
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

The Victorian Inn is in a great location within walking distance of Cannery Row, Fishermans Wharf, the aquarium and many restaurants. Parking was free & conveniently located in the parking garage beneath the hotel and the hotel room rate included a continental breakfast. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable, with a small shared balcony outside the room and it also had a small refrigerator.
And while the beds were comfortable, I tend to prefer a lightweight down comforter rather than the very heavy, quilted cover that was on the bed. And the only reason that I would not return to this hotel is the high fee charged for pets ($30 night), which is excessive. Something in the area of $10 - $15 night is standard, or even a refundable pet deposit upon checkout, which is even better. Considering that some children or even adults leave more of a mess than a well-behaved dog, I feel that $30 night is a rip off.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM_8, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Feedback is always welcome and considered to be of significant value to our business. I would like to address the issue of the pet fee. We have six rooms set aside for guests traveling with their pets. These rooms were designed with slightly different flooring to accommodate our “pet friends”. As a result, they have different cleaning requirements and are therefore, charged an additional fee. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to our guest’s comments.

General Manager
Victorian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

We spend every Thanksgiving in Monterey, and after the last 4 years at the Holiday Inn Express, we decided to try the Victorian Inn which is across the street. Staying within a few blocks of Cannery Row is a must, as you can take leisurely walk to all the attractions including the aquarium.

I found the staff very friendly, and the room comforable and clean - the gas fireplace was a nice touch as well. The room, although on the first floor, was quiet. The TV set was a little strange as all the channels are tuned through channel 4 (that took a while to figure out) and there are no DVD players, only VHS players. The breakfast was great with a nice selection of breads, coffee and juice, and cereal, fruit and hard cooked eggs. The afternoon wine and cheese is also nice. Location is just half a block from Lighthouse, which makes picking up a pizza from Pelican Pizza easier than getting into the car. The only downside was that you have to pay for parking, but even with that fee it was a great value.

I highly recommend this hotel if you have a family with you and are looking for a clean place in a great location for a Monterey stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

The 7 of us had a wonderful trip. We had different interests, and ideas of what our get-away from ohio should be. The Best Western was a perfect solution. The staff truly made our stay pleasant. Our setting for breakfast and the wine and cheese at night was delightful! Great fresh fruit, wonderful fresh homemade breads,muffins, eggs, Continental style with assortments of cereals, hot and cold, juices, and great teas too!!! The protected courtyard gardens were still blooming, and very well cared for, as well as the hot tub and the grounds. Our rooms were wonderful, beautiful gas fireplaces, one had an outdoor balcony facing the gardens, great for the smoker in our group. The other room had a very spacious window seat with table. The 4 of us fit very well in the room, using the seperate sink vanity, also sink in the shower area too. It was walking distance to some very beautiful sites, great trail along the ocean, great shopping, Good seafood on the wharf, and the driving is very easy. This destination and hotel makes for a wonderful get away. I would always stay here. AAA approved and very affordlble with all the amenities. Even chocolate on the pillows. You have to stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

We always feel welcome at the Inn and have never been disappointed during any of our many stays there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casaluba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Good value and location near Cannery Row. The website hotel photos are misleading since the rooms are not within a quaint Victorian-style inn. The hotel is a standard Best Western style on a semi-busy street. Many of the rooms are facing the street. Ask for a courtyard room with a fireplace. Parking is $13 per day unless you are on street.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank architeuthis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

place is well located. convenient and good basics. mattress was too hard for me but that was personal preference. breakfast was basic and appreciated. recommendation to nearby restaurant loose noodle did not prove to be a good meal at all. the room fireplace was pleaant to have on cool evening. other amenities was wine and cheese in the afternoon.
did not appreciate the additional 12 for parking. why do that for a big lot that is already under the bullding.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevanneSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing