We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose and was cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Ranked #56 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I don't understand why people are whining about their stay there. I didn't find anything that was below other motels' standards in Econo Lodge in Monterey. You get what you pay for: a decent bed where you can sleep a night or two- that's what the motels like that are for. And that was cheap, almost the cheapest night that we had during our 2 weeks vacation in California, Nevada and Arizona

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank adam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here because we were attending a music festival that was held across the street at the fairgrounds. The location was great for what we needed. The room was decent, clean and spacious. But the walls are paper thin and there is a lot of airplane noise so if you are light sleeper, definitely not recommended. I would definitely stay here again while attending another event at the fairgrounds for the convenience of being right across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvthebeach22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for easy access to the aquarium and the other beach side activities. However, the second morning there I awoke to a bedbug crawling on my arm! We checked over the bed and sheets and found another. Although we only found 2 specimens, if there are two then there were definitely more. We immediately called travelocity and had a 2 hour runaround between their call center and the hotel staff trying to get the remainder of the money for our stay back. We spent the rest of the day buying new luggage and scrubbing down all of our clothes to prevent the critters coming home with us, effectively taking a full day of what should have been a relaxing vacation away. They are lucky I don't sue for damages.

Moreover, their staff is apathetic at best and rude at worst. They were unhelpful and uninformed. Only good thing about this hotel is the pool, which was nice, but sleeping in a dark, smelly, and infested room is not worth the price. You don't even have a decent breakfast to look forward to!

Don't come here, spend the extra bucks and get a nice hotel or B&B in pacific grove .

Room Tip: They have bedbugs, don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Was going to stay for 2 nights but cut short our stay. An hour or so after checking in the airplanes started to fly over the hotel alarming close.

Room was clean but not very welcoming. Bathroom was tired. Iron but no ironing board although they did bring me a table top ironing board to use but there's was no suitable table to put it on.

The crunch came in the morning when we went for breakfast and found one (yes ONE) table for al the guests to share and NO trays to take food back to your room. I'm guessing there were 50 or so rooms - not acceptable, better to not provide breakfast at all.

We had paid $99 for the first night it's not worth half of that.

I got the distinct impression the management / owners were doing the minimum required to call this a hotel.

Try the Clarion streets better and around the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishComet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

If a fridge and microwave are critical to you, stay here. But the smell from the carpet freshener is overwhelming, we both had our sinuses clog up almost immediately. After a day of travel and exploring, call us crazy but we like to relax with some TV. All you can get are religious and informercial channels, almost no channels are available. It's clean, however. The continental breakfast is minimal, but it's there. We needed to do an emergency print of something, there's no paper in the printer and the ink ran out halfway through. Road noise is loud, if you stay here ask for a room away from the highway. Note: the people who run this are very friendly, helpful and nice. But maybe try another money-saving hotel - we moved.

Room Tip: Away from highway to reduce road noise. Be aware, you're within 2 mi of the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This motel reminds me of a florida motel. Laid back. Clean. simple. It looks like they take good care of the landscaping.
A bit noisy. and they could use a new T.V. Ours kept making a humming sound. But it was close to monterey bay aquarium and we slept good. I would stay again if I couldn't afford anything else. best of all no bed bugs! we stayed in the room right next to the office.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dtwsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel was the cheapest in monterey. Here's why:
-Old
-smelly
-very small breakfast area, no where to eat
-it says in the hotel brochure breakfast is until 10. They tell you it's until 930 and clear the breakfast while your still eating!
-staff is RUDE!
-airplanes fly right over hotel, noisy!
-showers only in the bathroom
-cold!

Only stay here if you have to or if you are looking for a cheap place to crash for one night!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponywal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#51 of 56 in Monterey
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
2.1 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#47 of 56 in Monterey
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 56 in Monterey
74 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey
Motel 6 Monterey
#52 of 56 in Monterey
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Fairgrounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Fairgrounds Inn

Address: 2042 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £39 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Fairgrounds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monterey Fairgrounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds Hotel Monterey
Econolodge Monterey Fairgrounds
Monterey Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing