We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“manager was nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds
Ranked #55 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Templeton, California
1 review
“manager was nice”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

the manager wasn't nosy or rude and let me be instead of staring at the door and calling the room everytime i smoked a cigarette outside or had my sister come over. which has happened. the room was alright. there werent crackeheads walking around either which was nice

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sierra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    22
    18
    61
See reviews for
30
39
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A good price value stay. Location is not the best if your stay is focused on Monterey. Staff is friendly and rooms are decently clean. Free wireless internet available. Noisy for the rooms close to the main street which has high traffic all night long.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voicu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I, with two friends, had the misfortune to book a stay in this hotel. The carpet in Rm# 133 was absolutely disgusting. Our friends' room was no better. I came out of the shower walked across it and my feet were black. The pool area was dirty and I have no doubt a health hazard. The water had a film on it. All the metal sun chairs were rusting away so all the legs were different lengths. The sun loungers were also broken. The few white plastic sun chairs around the pool were black. There was an electrical socket hanging off the wall. The tiles in the spa were chipped/broken. Tiles were chipped around the edge of the pool. It had not been swept for ages and all the rust from the chairs was on the ground. The general outisde public areas had not been swept for what looked like ages. With debris and rubbish everywhere. We had pre-booked for 3 nights but moved out after one. After I showed the manager the dirt off our room carpet she refunded me one night. But I am still waiting for a refund for the other night that we did not stay there. THIS HOTEL SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN. Choice Hotels should separate themselves from this hotel as it will not do their reputation any good. We have stayed in quite a few Econolodges and whilst I do not expect brand new up-to-date furnishings. I do expect everywhere to be clean. A pig sty would have been cleaner.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

200 words cannot describe how bad this hotel was. Booked in for 3 days but left straight away. Everything was either filthy dirty, rusty or broke. Car park area covered in cigarette ends. Pool chairs rusty and broke. Pool water not clear. Unhelpful management. Now complaining to Choice Hotels with photo proof. Ended up staying over the road in the Quality Inn which was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 64Ric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is worse than a Motel 6. I think it is very overpriced. Furniture was outdated, bathroom looked dirty, exposed pipes hidden behind a chair, safe in the room that cannot be used unless you pay extra...Noisy....Door sticky...you had to push it really hard to open...Seedy place....it felt dirty....I will never go there again...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We needed a place for a night in the Monterey area and every other hotel was almost complete but the Econo Lodge, And now I know why.
For over 100$ we had: rude receptionist, in a dirty office.
Dirty room with a dirty bath and a broken shower.
The breakfast was "served" in the same dirty office of the reception.
My siggestion: pay more and pick a different solution, this place is quite close to the Pier (5/10 mins driving) but totally don't woth it.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

i would never stay at this hotel again. we paid $150 for a Friday and sat night and also stayed a Thursday and paid around $90. our room and the towel rack off the wall but one metal part still stuck off the wall. one day they did not leave any soap. they charge you for ice really at a $150 a night give a person some ice. the hotel is really really run down very old they really need to spend some money on the place. you just really felt unclean in the room like the sheets weren't real clean it really is not a place I would tell anyone to stay in.

Room Tip: don't stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huenume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey
Motel 6 Monterey
#50 of 55 in Monterey
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Monterey Bay Travelodge
#38 of 55 in Monterey
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#4 of 11 in Monterey
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Property: Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds
Address: 2042 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds Hotel Monterey
Econolodge Monterey Fairgrounds
Monterey Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing