We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief but pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brief but pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We checked in late Fri evening and left early Sat but would love to try this hotel for a longer stay next time I head to Monterey. Lobby was beautiful, Lounge and pool area looked really nice but I did not get the opportunity to use. Hopefully next time. Rooms are typical, single pane windows, so you an hear whats going on outside (at least in the room we were in) but I've yet to find a really quiet hotel. Nice real wood furniture, like the recycling bins - but the beds were extraordinary!! If I could have I would have stolen the comforter and pillows :) . My son kept complimenting that every one was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlorenceGM, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Cathy O:
Thanks for the great feedback! Our Featherborne bed package is a Lurkspur Hotel signature item. The staff love to hear great things about them, and I will be certain to share. Look forward to your next visit!
Thanks
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    521
    228
    96
    52
See reviews for
324
672
64
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

very nice motel. A bit worn in the details, such as the cracked moulding on the bathroom floors, but honestly, how important are the details? I was in a "cozy queen", small, but plenty big enough for my week's stay. The bed was very comfortable, and I loved the radio. Too many hotels either have no radios or horrible cheap radios, but this Cambridge Soundworks set had wonderful clarity and depth. i just wish it had come with an adapter for my iPod. Big wide screen tv, but I don;t watch television, so I didn't use it. Not very private, on the first floor I felt like people in the parking lot were sharing room with me. Parking was a bit of problem too; not really the motel's fault, more the fault of people who drive ridiculous oversized behemoths that take up two spaces.

Room Tip: Second floor probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlorenceGM, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear MattBenzing:
I appreciate your comments on our bed package, It is one of our many strong points, along with the Cambridge audio. I also understand that parking fills up and apologize that larger vehicles sometimes take up extra spaces. We do our best to prevent this, especially when full.
We look forward to your return!
Regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A flat land foreigner from Ohio is hardly an expert on California hotels, but a zillion nights in a thousand hotels has tought me a few things.I judge any hotel by what I percieve as the intent of its' owner.I was dazzled by this place.The grounds, the room, it's maintainance, its' decor
rang every bell I have. They've a very stylish, even chic, restaurant, and their food was, I thought, wonderfully done and served with grace, and (thankfully) humor. I had a single room.
It was not large, but it was fine. I didn't have to "go outside to change my mind." as my old man would have said. I don't think I've ever written the words "decor" and "chic" on the same page in my life, but they've worked hard here. You will like this spot, and. . .you'll be able to afford it. Even I could.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetesrLakeErieshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel has its rooms over a large area in one and two storey blocks, not too bad unless it pours with rain and you need to get to reception! OK once we got there as we could pick up an umbrella to use but unfortunate otherwise... The room was clean and comfortable if quite small but with a nice bathroom, although the shower was really noisy it had the quietest flushing toilet I've ever come across... It is in a good position in the town, away from all the hustle and bustle of Cannery Row but close enough to walk if you want to, or even closer to the bus terminal if you want to ride on weary days.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florriemay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlorenceGM, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear florrirmay06;
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay. I appreciate your comments, and wish that the weather did not create challenges. However, I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, bath and location. We look forward to your return under sunny skies!
Thanks again,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently spent three nights at Casa Munras in Monterey, CA. The hotel consists of a nice combination of one and two story buildings spread out over a fair sized lot. There is also a nice restaurant as well by the name of Esteban. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was in good shape and appeared to have been recently painted. Included was a gas fireplace, although the weather was a bit warm to really take advantage of it. There's no AC or ceiling fan, so in warmer months, it could possibly get a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom was on the small side, but nicely tiled. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the harbor and bay. There is also a Trader Joes just down the street as well as a Peet's Coffee shop, among other establishments. Overall, we definitely enjoyed our stay here, and one can't go too far wrong in Monterey no matter what. The nearby attractions, of course, are the Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row and the coastline down 17 mile drive. It's a place I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice, laid back hotel in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westernflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I absolutely loved Casa Munras! The location is amazing! We were able to walk down to canery row in less than 20min! There's a Trader Joe's right around the corner, which is important if you like healthy snack like we do. The hotel itself has an amazing staff, always there to help (directions, towels, etc.).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Clean, modern room. Great restaurant on site, all together a very beautiful experience. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ute514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing