We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for Monterey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value for Monterey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed at Casa Munras one evening on a drive from southern California to northern California. Monterey is a charming little town, and Casa Munras served its purpose for my needs. The check in staff was very friendly, providing a map of the area and recommendations of things to do / places to eat. Upgraded to a king room at no charge, which was very kind. The property almost reminds of an apartment complex, with several one story buildings, some with little porches out front. You could even park right outside your door, or steps away. Everything in the room was clean, and bathroom had both a stall shower and soaking tub. Plantation shutters on the windows. Only downfall was there was no air conditioning. Typically wouldn't be a problem in September I wouldn't think, but it was a tad warmer than normal. Plus, being a Florida gal, we are used to air conditioning everywhere. However, my room did have a ceiling fan and that did a good enough job for the one night. It is a short walk down the street to a Peet's for some coffee and breakfast, and maybe five minutes by foot to downtown Monterey and the Wharf.
The only downfall here is the internet service is terrible. I would get connected with a very weak signal, and then immediately it would disconnect. 15 minutes on with tech support did not help. Otherwise, it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    500
    218
    92
    51
See reviews for
303
641
58
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I would recommend this hotel 100%....on check in we were given the friendliest greeting and so much information on where to go in Monterey and the surrounding area we were overwhelmed! I cant say we noticed the rooms being sub standard?? We all had a great nights sleep and were very comfortable....the pool area was well maintained with lots of towels and seating and a welcoming pool after long days out and about....if you do the ghost walk the hotel even features in that (but nothing went bump in the night!!!!)
A great stay thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The worst hotel we stayed at in one of the prettiest towns!!!! The rooms were dirty, smelly, old, poor decor, cold swimming pool and the staff were a bit clueless. Beds were really hard with latex padding which didn't help. After all the research we did this was a let down and far too expensive for the quality. No air con, old CRT TVs, WiFi was a pain as you had to re-boot all the time, and the restaurant had no vegetarian food on offer. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone except my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having never been to the Monterey/Carmel area, it is always difficult to truly know what you're getting into when you book a local hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by Casa Munras. The place reminded me of more of an exclusive "complex" with a regal entrance from the road, and several well-kept buildings making up the "campus". After experiencing the craziness of LA, the grounds were quiet and peaceful. The hotel is older, but in good repair and you can tell it is kept up well. We were in just a basic room with 2 double beds. It was a bit small for our liking, but filled the need for the one night we were there. The hotel is located in an area that made it easy to get to everywhere, however, you do have to drive to get to most places like Cannery Row and the 17 mile drive. We had our own car, so getting around wasn't an issue for us. There was nothing earth shattering either negative or positive about Casa Munras, but for those who haven't been to the area before, you should feel comfortable staying here. Quiet, clean and a nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchermerhornTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Twice we've stayed at Casa Munras in Monterey, CA.
It's a great value for the quality of the rooms and property.
Excellent beds with comfy bedding and mattresses.
The rooms are fine, with nice bathrooms and separate make-up areas.
Request a second floor corner room to get double windows and breezes from the ocean.
There is no AC, but the ocean breezes are nice... when the wind blows.
In the summer this could be an issue.
It's only two blocks from the bus and shuttle station.
The location is good, and it;s quiet.
Other than the lack of AC... it's a great value.

Room Tip: Request a second floor corner room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They advise guests how to be responsible with towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleased60933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thousand oaks, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked this room based on reviews and room pictures. What we got for $210.00 was an extremely musty smelling, funky, tiny old room. The carpeting looked about 40 yrs. old, room
was about 12x12, with a narrow bathroom. We had to leave the door open to air it out, seemed
like it hadn't been opened for a while. It seems they have a newer area somewhere, but we must
have been given the bottom of the barrel in rooms. No free breakfast, although Denny's is right
across the street. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask how old the room is. The bungalow buildings in the parking lot are the old ones, not the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loliver315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Casa Munras is conveniently located in downtown Monterey which once was the capitol of early California. It's central location is a great "base" to use as you explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf or historic Cannery Row. It's family friendly and easy to find.
The restaurant, Esteban's features tapas and is cozy; the chef does a wonderful job and the staff are friendly and eager to please.
Casa Munras is a MUST if you're traveling to the Monterey Peninsula; it's adjacent to Pebble Beach, Pacific Grove, Carmel, Seaside and Marina with numerous activities for the entire family

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanBRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing