We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I used to live in Monterey and had a business adjoining the Casa Munras so it was the first place that came to mind when we were looking for a place to spend three or four days..
It is now a Spa facility and a bit expensive but much less than almost all the quality places nearer to Cannery Row and it is a nice and not too long walk to get there (especially if you need to burn off some recent restaurant calories!)
Our room had a great King bed, a ton of pillows and a fireplace. The bathroom had both a tub AND a walk-in shower. It was VERY clean and we would definitely stay again.
If you can find a good deal on a room then it's an even better deal!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for one night only recently while passing through to Napa. The hotel location is very convenient to walking to the wharf and other Monterey attractions. Most notably the staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming. Nicholas at the front desk was incredibly helpful with his suggestions about Big Sur and local Monterey restaurants. Only low note was some thin walls and noisy neighbors - would recommend a corner room on an upper floor if you need peace and quiet to sleep (we were to tired to care!).

Room Tip: Corner room, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Posted on behalf of Randy Venard, General Manager

I want to thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We will share your kind remarks about our front desk staff with the entire team.

We hope that next time you are passing through Monterey, you will stay at the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place for the price point. Clean, comfortable, well located. They also have a decent fitness center which for some reason they've chosen to keep a secret.

I'll stay here again when the Lodge or Spanish Bay aren't part of the plan because it's beyond adequate.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank mderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Monterey over the Labor Day weekend. We stayed here using Priceline for booking. The room was very "cozy". The bed was comfortable. The buildings are old, but was in good condition and clean. Walls are a bit thin. If we were to stay again, I would see if I could book on the 2nd. floor or in the single story building. Staff was very nice, especially at the front desk. Location was ideal for us. Short walk to downtown and really not a bad walk to Fisherman's Wharf. I think their regular pricing is somewhat high for the amenities. Parking and wireless internet free. They also have a library of DVD's that you can borrow.

Room Tip: Would recommend 2nd floor or single story building. Walls a thin and you can hear conversations at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfNutMorganHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location: This hotel is a 25 minute walk to the aquarium. There are plenty of places to eat in the area but most of the tourist attractions are a bit of a walk.

Room: Bathroom is very small - room is OK nice but could have been nicer especially for the money. Furniture was worn.

Staff: The staff was very nice and accommodating. They all went out of their way to be helpful.

Parking: Parking is tight, in fact the evening we stayed it was difficult if not impossible to find parking.

“Resort”: Although the property has a spa, it is set up much in the same fashion many California “Inns” are set up. The rooms are all accessible from the outside and there is a main check-in area which also houses a restaurant. It really is a stretch to call this place a “resort”.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a very nice relaxing trip. Renting bikes from the hotel and riding along the Bay trail was an excellent idea on the sunny day.
Happy hour followed after a short swim in the heated to 82F swimming pool after 5pm.
We took about 10 mnts walk down to the Warf to have some sushi and came back to sit by the fire pit.
Room was small, but had everything we needed including a fireplace. Our bed was comfy for us.
Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant stuff was working hard to please every customer.
Check in and check out was easy. Everyone seemed to be very nice and friendly.
I only wish the hotel would have the hot tub next to the pol to use on the cooler days and evenings. Otherwise we thought everything worked very well for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zumba1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a night in October. The hotel was busy, even as we arrived late from Point Lobos. To our amusement one of the reception staff was busy telling a Dutch couple that a Breakfast Burrito was a traditional American breakfast dish...

I digress. We were pleasantly greeted and directed to our room. The room was a large, clean twin, with a good shower in a quiet area of the complex. It's set up like a large motel with numerous blocks.


A bit exhausted after our trip from Napa via Point Lobos we were not really in the mood for going out. Fortunately the excellent tapas food in the hotel restaurant is an easy cheat. The prawns were especially good.

All in all a good place to stop for the Monterey Peninsula.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £107 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing