We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel type....Freezing in our room in december.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montréal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Motel type....Freezing in our room in december.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby, we thought it would be ok rooms.

NEVER go there in the winter. The heater broke during the night, we were freezing all night.

Paper walls, could perfectly ear the neighbours. Rooms are motel like, corridor doors are open to the outside.
No water pressure in the shower.
Very noisy plumbing too.

Would not recommend....At all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FanCid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Posted on behalf of Randy Venard, General Manager

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.

We are all incredibly disappointed that your stay did not meet expectations. Our mission is to provide a restful environment dedicated to personal, attentive service, and I sincerely apologize for anything that detracted from your enjoyment of your stay. Please know that we ourselves are newcomers to the Casa Munras. Our company, the Inns of Monterey, recently purchased this hotel, and we are actively in the process of evaluating for improvements for the property. As mentioned in another recent response, we are currently in the progress of completing two model rooms, which will serve as the template for renovating the remaining rooms in the hotel. The scope of the renovation plan for the guest rooms will included upgrades to the plumbing and electrical systems, and significant upgrades to the insulation in the walls, ceiling, floors and windows. We will also install all new furniture, ceiling fans, and flat screen televisions.

Please be assured that feedback from our guests on the state of the hotel is greatly appreciated, and that your comments are being taken into account as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    508
    221
    93
    51
See reviews for
307
654
58
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We drove from LA to SF via route 1.
So we made it to Monterey as a stopover city.
Casa Munras served fantastically to what we went for. A cozy room, heated pool and a well located hotel.
It is really near the Main Street and the pier. We were there only during the night, so we weren't able to fully enjoy the city. Yet, we did have the chance to wander around.
The hotel served perfect to our needs during this trip. Would definitively return if we were to do the same route. Still, do not expect some extra luxury. We did not use the spa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QuequeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Found this cute lil hotel on Living Social as I was looking for nice/ special getaway for my b/f birthday. I wasn't too sure about it, but I thought it was good price for what they offered.
I made a great choice! My b/f (kinda a picky guy) and I both thought it was spectacular and exceeded all my expectations.
We stayed in a single story cottage with a fireplace and it was absolutely amazing.
He's stayed in quite a few hotels and said this one by far had been the best one. The grounds were very well kept. Everything was clean. All the plants, flowers, and grass were all luscious and well manicured. The staff was pleasant and eager to help from the front desk, to hostess and bartender in Esteban, which was beyond delicious, to the housekeeper who brought us extra towels.
The room was clean, the bath towels were cozy and the fireplace was the cherry on top!
Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali_Hottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was the best hotel of our 16 day California road trip.
We definitely got value for money with the "Fall Deal" and spent a very comfortable two nights. The room was a little difficult to locate, but it was a very large end room with two windows, one overlooking the swimming pool.
The hotel has a restaurant and a spa, but we didn't use either. It was approx 10 minutes drive to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Casa Munras for a few days and thought it was more than adequate. We spent very little time at the hotel (basically just slept there).

The staff was super nice and helpful upon arrival. The grounds were very clean and the location was great. Very easy walk to Fishermans wharf, but a bit too far from Cannery Row. We walked it, but will rent a bike or take a cab the next time.

Was a little disappointed in the room. VERY old television, small bathroom, and a little noisy. I knew there was no AC, but it wasn't necessary for our November visit. I got a really great rate on Hotwire so didn't mind too much. There was a spa and restaurant on the grounds but didn't try either. Would definitely stay here again if booked through Hotwire or Groupon. Otherwise, I'd stay at the Marriot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrmotyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here for a work conference. It is a good location within walking distance to the portola conference center and fisherman's wharf.They have done a low end remodel (still original bathrooms), but the rooms are large and clean. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. The beds in my room were small but since I was alone it didn't really matter. They have featherbeds, duvets and soft sheets and it is acutally a much quieter location than the Portola or Marriott hotels, which I have never slept well in because they are really loud. It is also dog friendly (saw a woman with a big great dane). It isn't quite as nice as many of the other options in downtown monterey, but I would probably stay here again because I slept much better here than the other options!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Another 'mug' taken in by the photos on the web page, all I wish to say is our room smelt horrible and the bed was NOT queen size more like a UK double and it was very uncomfortable. We did use the pool and gym which were acceptable, but you could have got the same at some motel much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0glie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Posted on behalf of Randy Venard, General Manager

I want to thank you very much for taking the to comment on your recent stay. We hold feedback such as yours to be extremely valuable, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements.

We are all disappointed that, despite your kind regard for the pool and gym, your stay did not meet expectations. Our mission is to provide a restful environment dedicated to personal, attentive service, and I sincerely apologize for anything that detracted from your enjoyment of your stay. Please know that we ourselves are newcomers to the Casa Munras. Our company, the Inns of Monterey, recently purchased this hotel, and we are actively in the process of evaluating for improvements for the property. We are currently in the progress of completing two model rooms, which will serve as the template for renovating the remaining rooms in the hotel. The scope of the renovation plan for the guest rooms will included upgrades to the plumbing and electrical systems, and significant upgrades to the insulation in the walls, ceiling, floors and windows. We will also install all furniture, ceiling fans, and flat screen televisions. We look forward to providing our guests with ongoing updates on the progress of the renovation, and hope that you will be pleased with our choices and the final product.

Please be assured that feedback from our guests on the state of the hotel is greatly appreciated, and that your comments are being taken into account as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing