We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean and bed most comfortable bed we have ever had in a hotel. They knew we were celebrating anniversary and had champagne and truffles waiting.
Only negative is our room had adjourning room and woke me up at midnight with tv. Called office and they took care of it.
Restaurant was beautiful but breakfast was poor. Service good though.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovemaui32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is my third visit to the Casa Munras Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here! Our fireplace room with King bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed dining several times at the restaurant on-site, Esteban. There are heaters and a fireplace on the restaurant patio- a nice place to relax at the start and end of the day. There are movie DVD's to be borrowed at no charge. Appreciated the in room coffeemaker and small refrigerator. Even bicycled at the fitness center. The hotel staff is efficient and friendly. A dispenser of flavored water and cups and a basket of apples are located in the lobby. Hot, fresh baked cookies are available between 3-5pm. Great location to the wharf via a short walk. Our first choice for great lodging at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-lady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at this property. Each time I have had a wonderful experience. The room is exactly what I expected. The bed was very comfortable. Free parking. Easy access to route 1. The gym is small but it was exactly what I needed. I will be back my next trip to the area.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were in the back building at the rear of the property - our experience elsewhere might have been different, but we could not sleep for half the night because there was Friday night unofficial street racing going on in the street next to our room. We checked out early on Saturday and spent Saturday night in another more expensive hotel, with much better sleeping conditions.

The hotel looks nice from the street, has a nice staff and the lobby area is very nice, but fundamentally it's a cosmetically updated 1960's motel with exterior room entrances.

You can do better in Monterey. You may pay a bit more elsewhere, but at least you can sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room in the center of the building complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. They always love hearing from our guests. We were disappointed that your stay was less than enjoyable and want to apologize for the noise issue that prevented you from getting a restful night sleep. Casa Munras Hotel and Spa sits across 4 acres of land and is one of the more authentic properties in Monterey, being one of the first hotels in the area. We did recently acquire this property and are very excited to continue to improve the facilities. The lobby, Estebans, and the spa have all been renovated and we are scheduled to begin room renovations this fall. In the scope of our renovation plans we will be putting in double pane windows and new insulation to assist with preventing outside noise. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us in the future to experience all of the exciting renovations and upgrades firsthand.

Warmest Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice this year and have found the location central to the activities we enjoy, the staff friendly the amenities abundant, the rooms well maintained and the value excellent. Will stay here visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is one great place to stay because it is walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row as well as to shopping areas. The property is well kept and clean. No complaints about the room either. The double beds were comfy and room size for my family was perfect. The only complaints was that the bathroom fan wasn't working and brought this to the attention to the front desk. They were happy to fix the issue right away…but wasn't convenient for my family so…..they gave me a $25 credit voucher for the restaurant.

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs or on a single level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninjalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place has a lot going for it, good location, comfy beds, clean room, good restaurant. On the down side, the exterior is tired especially the roof, which is beginning to look like it's thatched. We were assigned a room that appeared to have been repurposed. It was in the pool area, tiny, with ceiling light fixtures that weren't centered, no fireplace and crowded with furniture. We visit Monterey often depending on the deals available at either this hotel or the other 3.5 star up the street. Next time, I'll ask if the room looks like the website pix. It is still a good value and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £102 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing