We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. It was in a great location , rooms were small but clean, staff friendly and the restaurant and bar area outside is lovely. Would definitely go back ! Monterey itself is a very pretty place. Had dinner at bubba gumps ( average) , also ate at The Fish hopper by the aquarium which was lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We will be sure to share it with our staff who enjoy hearing from our guests. Monterey is a spectacular place that offers a variety of activities for all ages. We are delighted to hear that our location made it easy for you to travel to Cannery Row to try out new restaurants, though disappointed to hear that one was not as pleasing as the others. We are pleased that Esteban’s was able to gain such high praise from you, as it offers lovely outside dinning to soak up the California weather, but also offers exciting bar seating, where one can enjoy the latest game. We hope you will return soon!

Warm Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    521
    228
    96
    52
See reviews for
324
672
64
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a delightful hotel. The suite is very nice and comfy, as are the regular rooms. On our first visit we took our dog and we were put in an awful room which was extremely run down. I'm glad I gave them another try without the dog because the rest of the hotel is fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your most recent stay with us. While we are happy to hear that your stay with us was so delightful, we are disappointed that this was not the case when you brought your dog. We are in fact a very pet friendly property within close proximity to many trails for our furry friends to enjoy. Please accept our apologies for your room not meeting your expectations the first time around. We are grateful that you gave us another chance, and that we were able to give you the Monterey experience you deserved, which we hope to provide to all of our guests. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San d
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were greeted sincerely from the lobby by evan and frances. They made us feel welcome and ensured we were comfortable in our stay. They even gave rubber duckies for our two children. When we asked for a different room since we need a bath tub for our kids, they gave us an upgrade to a room that meets the need of my family. Our room was comfortable with a king size pillow top bed and a big bathroom with shower and separate bath. We enjoyed the fireplace that was in our very own room. They also ensured my baby had a crib to sleep on. It was definitely a comfortable stay for our family. We enjoyed it and felt like the staff made a difference in our stay. Im even thinking of coming back the next time around.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangeline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and property. We are so pleased that they were able to make your stay a memorable one by meeting your family’s needs. In particular, we were happy that they were able to move your family to a more fitting room and provide you with a crib and rubber ducky’s for the children. We find great pleasure in providing the little extras for the kids. Our pillow top beds, down comforters, and fireplaces are all small touches we hope provide a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon.

Warmest Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were in town for a conference for my husband, and booked this hotel rather late so we didn't have a lot of options. It was quite expensive for what it is: a renovated motel, however we had to take what we could get on a busy conference weekend.

We asked for a king and got two double beds. The room was rather small and quite dark. There are plantation shutters on the windows and windows on only one side. The room seemed clean, however, and had a safe and a small fridge.

The best part about the hotel was the location. I could walk to Peet's Coffee and Trader Joe's in about 5 minutes, there was a great little cafe across the street that had an amazing breakfast, and the shops in Monterey were about a 10-15 minute walk. I was able to walk to the beach in about 20 minutes. Monterey is beautiful and I enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GriffinH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. While we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of our hotel, we were disappointed that your stay did not meet expectations. Regarding your room request, typically when booking directly with our reservations department our guests are given detailed descriptions of our available rooms and it is confirmed as to what room type is being booked; however when booking through a third party this is not always the case. Please feel free to contact our reservations department directly while planning your next Monterey trip, as they will gladly help you find the best room type to accommodate your party. We also wanted to share with you that we are planning several upgrades to our rooms, scheduled to begin this fall. We are excited to preserve the historical and aesthetic nature of the Casa Munras Hotel, while providing updated amenities and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Lobby and restaurant are very nice and inviting. The grounds are well maintained and pool heated. As far as the rooms they are pretty basic, but clean and linens are decent. There is no a/c, but windows open while plantation shutters still allow privacy. We opted for a 2 bed w/ fireplace. Although we won't be using fireplace, it could be nice on a cool pacific evening. Walls are quite thin. Overall a reasonable price for the place. Spa prices were high so we didn't try it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stef21cville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We travel often and this time brought our two little children to stay a night in Monterey Bay to go whale watching. This place was not only super convenient to the warf but it was gorgeous!!!! The room was spectacular! The fireplace was warm and comforting, the room was very spacious, the staff was amazing and the beds felt like a slice of heaven. Not to mention the restaurant was convenient, very slow service for food but again the staff was so friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace in the cold months so worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanesha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here for three nights during a conference. The lobby, entrance, and grounds are very nice. My room, which is ADA (I had a family member join me and he's older, so he'd rather avoid stairs if possible) was big enough, but rather uneventful, it appeared as if all the leftover furniture unused from other rooms was tossed into our room, and it felt like a basement - very dark.

However, we weren't using the room - only for sleep and so forth. We hung out a lot at the outdoor lounge, which becomes a popular hotspot for happy hour with locals and tourists alike in the evening. Heaters abound so it's popular well into the evening.

I made an appointment at the spa, which is very nice and brand new (or newly reopened). My nail tech never showed up, so they offered me another appointment and a free pedicure. So, that was nice and my nail tech that day was really lovely and nice. Rates are very reasonable at the spa.

Hotel staff was very nice, funny and accommodating. Restaurant staff was friendly, very slow sometimes though. I often felt like they treated people differently based on how much they spend, which was very frustrating as a solo person who sometimes just wanted a drink. However, the bartender and manager were generally very nice. I did move at one point to allow the manager to seat a larger party at my table, and wasn't even thanked for it. The perils of solo dining...

Casa Munras is close to historic downtown Monterey. You can walk. But, for those who aren't able to walk far, I'd stay someplace closer in town. Free parking is nice, and the area felt rather safe at night despite some "local color," that hangout near the Peet's Coffeeshop nearby.

Pro tip - French bakery across the street is fabulous for coffee and fresh pastries in the morning. Pool is very clean and heated year round at the hotel!

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room in the back of the facility. Bottom floor you'll hear everyone and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing