We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to enjoy Vargas Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I had great time at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa .Nice and beautiful location, clean room y nice staff;special thanks at Cynthia y and the restaurant people, they were lovely.We enjoy all food we order.....

Room Tip: Quiet and good room location,#292
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miledys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for all your kind words. We are so delighted to hear that we were the perfect location for your family vacation. We are very fortunate to have an amazing staff and will be sure to share your comments with them, so that they know what an excellent job they are doing. We are also very pleased to find out that all the food you had at Esteban was excellent. We look forward to welcoming the Vargas family back!

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inn of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
There are newer reviews for Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Casa Munras. The cosy queen room was big enough and very comfortable. The food was excellent. I normally stay away from hotel food but the breakfast menu is fantastic and don't miss the tapas, wait staff were lovely. Of the five hotels we stayed in in our road trip around the outlying areas of San Fran it was the best value. Shame the scuba diving in the area (why we were there) didn't live up to expectations

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania_Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Our cozy queen rooms are the perfect fit for someone on a road trip. We were very happy to hear that you found it comfortable and spacious. As you mentioned Esteban offers excellent Spanish tapas and delicious breakfast options! We are pleased that you found Esteban to offer not only good food, but also great service. We hope that will get another chance to visit Monterey in the near future and have another go at scuba diving.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I first visited Casa Munras during our 1 year anniversary August of 2013. It is a beautiful resort, centrally located to everything in MB. We even went for a run down to the pier and ate at Loulou's Griddle in the Middle (a MUST visit, but go early http://bit.ly/1nJXs6Q)

The resort is also very close to the Paris Bakery, which is another great stop. Here are the basics of what impressed us.

Pros
-Very upscale feel. As soon as you pass by the outdoor seating area complete with wood chairs and a fire pit, you are welcome by a very courteous and professional staff. We've actually stayed here twice now, one time we checked in at 1 AM and reception was open and excited to help.
-The rooms are extremely well kept and the beds are probably some of the softest we've ever slept in. Some rooms even have fireplaces which adds a romantic feel (gentlemen, take note)
-The resort grounds are well kept and the landscapers really do a good job

Cons
-Not enough time in the day. We have yet to try Esteban Restaurant (their on site restaurant) as we've never allowed for enough time. The pool is another great amenity we haven't tried our hand at yet
-Parking is always tough here but depending on the day, you can legally park on the sidewalk on Munras Ave.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but I'd recommend the rooms with a fireplace for an added something special...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Selected due to price and location and the fireplace in the room. VERY disappointed in the ugly faux 60s fireplace - not at all what is pictured on the website. We had a terrible experience at check-in and the gentleman who was at the desk was far too busy flirting with another guest to notice the line backing up. I'm still mad about the lack of consideration and the bottle of wine sent up later by the manager wasn't enough to change my mind. ALSO, in my book, this is a MOTEL that's been overhauled and NOT a HOTEL. Good try, though. And then we have the odor in the room - just old and musty so we opened the window and were treated to four hours of young boys in the swimming pool yelling "I am Batman!" while their parents sat and drank. Lovely. Very considerate. How is this a deluxe room with a cheap fireplace and overlooking the noisy pool? Thank heaven we were only there for one night.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for the main floor - there is no elevator. You'll want to a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalindria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are sincerely sorry to hear that your stay was less than pleasant. We want to thank you for taking the time to post this review so that we have the chance to better serve our guests in the future. Our mission is to provide personalized and attentive service and we are very sorry that this was not the case during check in. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our management, as your experience is contrary to our service standards.

Regarding the room, we did recently purchase Casa Munras due to its rich history and central location. In an effort to provide a more consistent design, layout, and amenities in our guest rooms we have planned room renovations that will begin this October, which will soon match our already renovated lobby, meeting rooms, spa, and restaurant. Included in our renovation plans will be new double pane windows and insulation to reduce noise dramatically.

We hope that you will consider returning in the hopes of providing you with a wonderful Monterey experience and to see all our upcoming updates firsthand.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We enjoyed our room at the Casa Mundrus and wandering around the Monterey area.

The room was spacious but a little out dated with cracked bathroom tiles and old cupboards. However overall the room was spacious and the beds comfortable. The nearby pool was warm at 80f and was popular.

Our meal in the restaurant on site was both high quality and reasonably priced. The menu offering a Tapas style format was a little difficult to work through with descriptions and names. But once we had it sorted it was delicious. An accompanying bottle or two of local Carmel red wine made the night quite enjoyable.

An outside sitting area around a large open fire was also popular and worth sitting here for a few minutes with other tourists and locals.

The banging on our door at 0820 was a real negative end to our stay. Our car was immediately outside our room and it was clear we were in the room. Neighboring rooms were also woken by housekeeping - a nice way of saying get out.

We have not experienced this in our many nights away.

Overall a good stay with a warm welcome frommthemoutset by a very helpful Jordan who outlined locations and must see sites. His explanation and service was excellent - perhaps he needs to talk to his house keeping who made us feel like the enemy as we were leaving?

Room Tip: Put up a sign so you are not woken by house keeping walking in at 8.20am.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Perfect. Room was spacious, comfortable, every detail attended to.
Ladies bring your bubble bath. The tub is amazing, it's built for two!!
Fireplace, refrigerater....Plug in your smartphone and turn on the music.

We had breakfast in the restaurant, delious, and the staff at the Hotel, made us feel welcome.
The politeness was sincere, and not plastic. I truly appreciated that. It does not matter how nice a place is, if the staff is rude or short, or snobs, it ruins your visit.
The staff was courteous, polite,, I just did not have time for the spa, but next time. There are warm cookies at check in time too. ;-)
Oh I can only speak for the Concierge room. That is the room we stayed in.
The room and Staff attention was 5 star..

Room Tip: We did not order room service. We did not utilize any of the spa services.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rpryor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Overall, a very nice property. Older, needs some upgrades.
No fan in the bathroom or window, tiny, tiny parking spaces, only 2 bath towels? My wife washes her hair so I ended up using a wet towel. Most properties give you 4 bath towels at least?
Very nice room with wonderful fireplace...amazing bed!
Great location for visiting the Monterey Peninsula and coast.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernvilledaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,992 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £109 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing