We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I planned a weekend away for my mom, myself and two younger boys. My mom is battling stage 4 cancer and is mostly constrained to a wheel chair due to the lack of her strength. Upon arrival, I was informed that the power was out in our ADA room and it was expected to be turned back on by 9 pm. Cynthia, at the front desk, went above and beyond to make sure our stay was special. She gave us a standard room on the 1st floor that did have power and made special accommodations for us. It was a very special weekend despite the issues beyond anyone's control because of the staff. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe fireplace room. The size difference is worth the extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that Cynthia was able to go above and beyond for you and your mom during our recent power outage. We are so happy that it turned out to be special weekend full of memories. We look forward to having you all back soon!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay. The front desk staff went above and beyond to be helpful, providing useful information. The room was well appointed with two double beds, a sitting area, a small desk with a coffee maker, and an armoire. The grounds were beautiful and an easy walk to the trolley station, which gets you everywhere. My only complaint is that I left a hat on the armoire, and even calling just after we left, it was not recovered. It’s hard to say why that happened, but was disappointing. Aside from that, it was a great stay. This property is not near the piers and beaches, but is easily accessible to the city. Enjoyable and pleasant, no problem with parking and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aubry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. Our mission is to provide our guests with personalized and attentive service and we were thrilled to hear that our staff was so helpful in providing you with information. As you mentioned, our location is excellent and the perfect distance to the trolley station. Our guests really enjoy the accessibility to everything from our location in downtown Monterey. In regards to your hat, we do keep records of all lost and found items and are very sorry that your hat was never recovered. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future. We will be updating our guest rooms this October and hope that you will be able to experience all the changes upon your return.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I went to Casa Munras on the spur of the moment for Memorial Day weekend. They were honest enough not to price gauge me like some other places in Monterey. We rented the luxury room at a fair price. We intended to stay only one night but we ended up staying for the weekend.The amenities included a clean gym, professional spa, pool, full bar and restaurant. Nicholas was very attentive and helpful and showed us on a map some of the best attractions an scenic routes in the area. We definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this last minute through Orbitz as we came into town. Not ever being in Monterey before, this is a good location. It is close to many restaurants & variety of stores. It is only 2 miles from the aquarium & the cannery district. A person could walk or bike that as it is a flat walk for the most part to that area. The room we had was comfortable, but probably use some updating. It is very clean & cozy. The beds were comfortable & liked the bedding that is used. It has real comforters & not those thin rough bed covers you find in most hotels.
We did not use the Spa. I looked at the prices out of curiosity, but thought they were too high compared to what I pay at home.
We would come back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiner721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are very appreciative of your feedback and want to thank you for your review. We were delighted to find out that this was your first trip to Monterey and hope it won’t be the last. As you noted, we do have a fantastic location in historic downtown Monterey, which we hope you had the chance to explore, along with Cannery Row. In regards to our green features, you are correct that it is even more important to conserve right now and in response we are working diligently to become Green Seal Certified. We are happy to share to our Company the Inns of Monterey does already have three properties that are Green Seal Certified and are hoping to make this property our fourth! Thank you again for your feedback as it provides us with the opportunity to continually improve. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We ended up at Casa Munras through a Priceline bid, and were happy with the results. The hotel is largely one-story and our two story room had no elevator. The lay-out is what we used to call a "motel" with room doors opening onto an outdoor walkway and parking next to your room. The property was larger and spread-out more than I expected, and the grounds were colorful (lots of flowers) and inviting. The staff at the front desk was polite and helpful. The room was spacious and clean; ours had a refrigerator, but no microwave. The location is good (Denny's is right across the street); we even walked to the wharf, but it is close to a mile. We stayed there three nights and enjoyed our time away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our property. As mentioned, our property is spread out over 4 acres of land with beautiful flowers throughout for our guests to enjoy. Our staff is what sets our property apart and we are very pleased to hear that they were able to make such a positive impression. Our housekeeping staff are very conscious of our guest requests, as three of our four properties are Green Seal Certified. We are currently working on getting our certification for Casa Munras Hotel and Spa, which we recently purchased. Should your journeys bring you back to Monterey we hope that we will continue to be your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this hotel. We requested for a hypoallergenic room, and they made sure the room was well cleaned. We didn't have major allergy episode. It was a 5 mins walk to food places at Alvarado street, 3 mins to Trader Joes and there is a free city trolley service 3 mins at the Transit center taking you to cannery row and fisherman wharf.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the waterfront and its value. For $268 including all taxes and fees, we stayed in a deluxe king room with fireplace. But we were also delighted to discover we had been booked in a corner room with a private balcony!

I had requested a room on the second floor at the rear of the complex after reading reviews here, and glad I did. It appears that noise might be a problem for rooms near the pool or the street. But we were blissfully happy with our accommodations. True, the room appointments don't look brand spankin' new, but everything was clean and very comfortable. (Although they could use some better pillows). We were also given a late checkout so we didn't have to kill time in town for hours before our 5:30 flight out of San Francisco. Instead, we slept in and then bought breakfast at the little bakery across the street (good food, slow service) and ate it on our balcony while looking over pictures from our trip.

Monterey itself is just OK (although we didn't spend any time in the downtown historic district so can't comment on that). The wharf area was nothing special... pretty much your standard tourist trap. And while the aquarium is great (at $40 per adult!), we've been to others just as nice or better (Baltimore, Camden NJ). Probably better if you have small children since there are kid-friendly educational exhibits throughout. The view to the harbor from the aquarium was a highlight... you can see otters and seals basking on the rocks and in the kelp in the distance.

Spent our second day driving south — stopping first at Point Lobos State Reserve on the advice of a waitress at the hotel restaurant, Esteban (nice patio, decent tapas, but chilly when the sun's not out!). The vistas from Point Lobos are spectacular; don't miss it ($10 entry fee per vehicle)! We then headed south along Hwy 1 to Big Sur. What an amazing drive! The views are breathtaking along the way. We stopped at the Big Sur Riverside Inn for lunch. Their large patio overlooks a beautiful little river, where after your meal you can sun in Adirondack chairs plunked right in the water! The food, ambience and service were all were all top-notch. There are also a couple of small gift shops on the property that have some very nice local art, jewelry and other goods. Unfortunately, we ran out of time so weren't able to hike in the area as planned, but hope to return one day. The Riverside Inn looks like a great spot to stay (albeit not inexpensive). On the way back we took the western portion of the 17-mile drive along the Carmel Coast, which takes you past the infamous Pebble Beach Golf Resort. It cost $10 for the privilege of oggling the pricey homes and ocean views along the way. If you aren't able to get to Point Lobos or Big Sur, this is a decent alternative, and there are some lovely picnicking spots along the route. The Carmel River State Beach, at the south end of the drive is a beautiful spot as well.

On our last night we had dinner at Dametra Cafe, the top rated restaurant in Carmel — and deservedly so. The Mediterranean food was delicious (best Greek salad I've ever had) and the service was excellent. They also have an ethnic music duo performing at interludes during the evening.

All in all a great trip. Definitely recommend Casa Munros as an alternative to pricier Carmel hotels. We chose Monterey because we attended a wedding in Los Altos earlier in the week and wasn't a long drive. But if we had it to do over we would have stayed in or closer to Big Sur, which is intoxicatingly beautiful.

Room Tip: Request room 270 for a quieter room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Istrategist56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £101 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing