We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
383 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Price...”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good price for a beautiful stay. The rooms are a bit dated and the cleanliness of the bathroom was questionable (there was hair and a bobby pin in the middle of the floor when we got there). However, it was very reasonably priced and quiet. I really appreciated the spa products in the bathroom and the fan they provided in the closet. Not the nicest stay but perfectly acceptable!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuhllikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are thrilled to find out that you had a beautiful stay. Our property is one of the more authentic properties in downtown Monterey, once being owned by Spanish diplomat Don Esteban Munras. Our company the Inns of Monterey, recently purchased Casa Munras Hotel and Spa and will be beginning guest room renovations this October. We hope bring back the luster of the property, while preserving the integrity of such a historical building. We will be installing all new furniture, plumbing, electric, insulation, carpet, ceiling fans, and flat screen televisions to provide our guests with the modern day luxuries and amenities. In regards to the bathroom, we are very sorry and disappointed that you encountered this. Cleanliness is a top priority of ours and we will certainly review your comments with our housekeeping management to ensure that this does not occur in the future. We truly hope that you will consider staying with us in the future to experience the upcoming changes firsthand.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    513
    223
    95
    52
See reviews for
313
660
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

What a nice diversion from high rise chain hotels! It has been a while since I've stayed at a place where you were able to park right outside your room. It's an older, historic property that what lacks in modern amenities (like big bathrooms, big closets, big flat screens) makes up in comfort (great bed) and service (outstanding). It's an easy walk to downtown, and the restaurant is a gem with a unique Tapas menu that is a great value (short ribs for $14!!

It is also a great value compared to several other Monterey Hotels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

During a coastal vacation trip, we stopped in Monterey for a night - just long enough for us to tour the wharf area and see some of the highlights of the Peninsula. This hotel is in a convenient location, clean and comfortable. Highly recommended for travelers with family or looking for a casual and comfortable environment to rest their weary heads.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1BigDaddy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome review! One night just never seems to be enough, but we are so glad you were able to see the highlights of the Peninsula and the wharf. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon. There is always so much more to explore!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during our road trip up the coast. The location was great, only a couple blocks away from Alvarado street where you can find food and a couple of bars. The front desk was great and extremely pleasant. Our room was a king and very spacious, with a pretty big shower as well. The room and bed were a but outdated and did not have AC. We did find a nice fan in the closet to keep us cool at night. I took one star away because we got woken up every morning by a dumpster truck doing the rounds. If I stayed here again I would ask for a room away from the street. The location was great in relation to Point Lobos , 17 mile drive, etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaLanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good:
Free internet
Free parking
Close proximity to downtown restaurants

Bad:
No A/C - standing fan instead
No covered parking
Small bathroom that was not updated and tub was repaired poorly
Tiny closet
No dresser
Room decor was outdated
Old smell in the room
Shutters did not block out the light or provide sense of privacy
Small pool area and no spa
Office staff not friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We want to thank you for your review and are so appreciative of your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location among other things, but are very regretful to find out that your stay was less than delightful. Air conditioning is typically not needed in Monterey, as many properties on the peninsula do not contain air conditioning. Usually we are lucky enough to enjoy the cool ocean breezes from the bay. However, in response to the recent spikes in temperatures we recently purchased oscillating fans for each of our guest rooms and will be installing ceiling fans during our renovation. We will begin guest room renovations this October, which will include installing all new insulation, double pane windows, electrical, plumbing, and furniture. In regards to our staff, rest assured we will pass on your feedback to our front desk management for review, as this is not typical of our service standards. We hope that you might consider returning in the future to experience all the exciting room updates firsthand. Thank you again for taking the time to review. We truly value all of our guest’s feedback, as it allows us to continually improve on the services and accommodations we offer.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I planned a weekend away for my mom, myself and two younger boys. My mom is battling stage 4 cancer and is mostly constrained to a wheel chair due to the lack of her strength. Upon arrival, I was informed that the power was out in our ADA room and it was expected to be turned back on by 9 pm. Cynthia, at the front desk, went above and beyond to make sure our stay was special. She gave us a standard room on the 1st floor that did have power and made special accommodations for us. It was a very special weekend despite the issues beyond anyone's control because of the staff. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe fireplace room. The size difference is worth the extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that Cynthia was able to go above and beyond for you and your mom during our recent power outage. We are so happy that it turned out to be special weekend full of memories. We look forward to having you all back soon!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay. The front desk staff went above and beyond to be helpful, providing useful information. The room was well appointed with two double beds, a sitting area, a small desk with a coffee maker, and an armoire. The grounds were beautiful and an easy walk to the trolley station, which gets you everywhere. My only complaint is that I left a hat on the armoire, and even calling just after we left, it was not recovered. It’s hard to say why that happened, but was disappointing. Aside from that, it was a great stay. This property is not near the piers and beaches, but is easily accessible to the city. Enjoyable and pleasant, no problem with parking and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotusv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. Our mission is to provide our guests with personalized and attentive service and we were thrilled to hear that our staff was so helpful in providing you with information. As you mentioned, our location is excellent and the perfect distance to the trolley station. Our guests really enjoy the accessibility to everything from our location in downtown Monterey. In regards to your hat, we do keep records of all lost and found items and are very sorry that your hat was never recovered. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future. We will be updating our guest rooms this October and hope that you will be able to experience all the changes upon your return.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,301 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing