We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We spent only one night in this hotel but we really enjoyed it! We were 4 and had 2 communicating rooms. Both were very pleasant with enough room and comfortable beds. The TV has kind of bad definition and the shower could be replaced, but despite that I had nothing to complain about. Great breakfast menu also

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Romain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were all delighted that you found great value during your stay, as that is one of our top priorities. We are excited to share that in October we will begin guest room renovations which we hope will address your television and shower concerns. In the scope of the renovation we will be installing all new insulation, double pane windows, flooring, ceiling fans and plumbing. Additionally, new furniture will be installed along with flat screen televisions. We look forward to your next visit and hope to earn your 5 star review!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and the room was nicely furnished and well equipped but not very big. We only had booked a standard room so no complaints, we expected small but perfectly formed which it was. Room facilities and high standards more befitting of a more expensive hotel. Grounds kept immaculate as is the terrace, reception, bar and restaurant. Staff were first class, friendly but VERY professional yet in genuine way - they want you to have a great time! Staff were efficient in making reservations for various attractions and restaurants. We ate dinner one evening in Estaban's, the hotels own dining room. Food was nice but not outstanding in that the food was a bit overpriced but not badly so. A good time was had with very good cocktails (and these were the real deal) and wine and with superb staff. Very laid back affair and a good end to our day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinjaRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We were all thrilled to read your fantastic review! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. They always try to make our guests stay a memorable one and we are happy to hear they left the impression they did. Regarding your dining experience, we are disappointed that we fell short, however, we were pleased that you found your drinks and our wine selection to be excellent, along with our restaurant staff. We will be sure to share your comments with our Chef, as he continually strives to offer the most delectable and freshest Spanish dishes. Thank you very much for taking the time to share and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our third time staying at this lovely inn. It was originally an old hacienda and still maintains that charm even though it is a fairly large hotel. The pool is wonderful, surrounded by roses, has tasteful luxurious decor. Many good restaurants and the historic wharf are within walking distance, although Cannery Row is a bit of a walk for dinner. The grounds and rooms are always well kept. Cannot wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: Must get a second floor room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank tripster453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary in Monterey and had a wonderful time. Casa Munras was perfect for our stay. The front desk was friendly and informative and our dog felt right at home also. The restaurant in the hotel was fabulous with a pet friendly patio for dining. In old town and close to everything without being in the middle of all of the high traffic areas. Loved it !!! Well return again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was booked by our son and at first we were worried that it would not be what we liked. We were very pleasantly surprised. This was a very, very nice place to stay. Our king size room overlooking the kidney shaped, well maintained pool and beautiful rose garden was cozy and also very clean. Linen and mattress as well as bathroom were all clean and well appointed. Although there was no air conditioning and it was an unseasonable hot spell the room was cooled sufficiently during the day and at night by tall oscillating electronic fan. Casement window opened wide also. No elevator but a bellman was almost instantly available to carry up our bags to the second floor. Restaurant was excellent, as was the large outside lounge area that had a fire pit and propane heaters. Trader Joe's nearby. Rather easy walk to downtown and the water front. Our son and wife walked all the way to Pacific Grove!. All in all a very nice stay. Near the Presidio Armed Services Base and also the International Studies Grad. School of Middlebury College.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank enjoytravelnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are very appreciative of your kind words and want to thank you for the recent review. It is wonderful to hear that our helpful staff, beautiful property, and central location were able to change your initial doubts about our property. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another Monterey experience!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

LOVE, love, love the spa (Sano Spa), the hotel is super cute and dog friendly. Only downside is the restaurant. Limited menu items and it took FOREVER to get our food. Very typical "hotel" food, almost cafeteria like.
OK, back to the things we love about it. Great fireplace in room, extra comfy beds, quiet part of town but within walking distance of downtown and one of the best places to get a drink in Monterey (Restaurant 1833).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good price for a beautiful stay. The rooms are a bit dated and the cleanliness of the bathroom was questionable (there was hair and a bobby pin in the middle of the floor when we got there). However, it was very reasonably priced and quiet. I really appreciated the spa products in the bathroom and the fan they provided in the closet. Not the nicest stay but perfectly acceptable!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kuhllikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are thrilled to find out that you had a beautiful stay. Our property is one of the more authentic properties in downtown Monterey, once being owned by Spanish diplomat Don Esteban Munras. Our company the Inns of Monterey, recently purchased Casa Munras Hotel and Spa and will be beginning guest room renovations this October. We hope bring back the luster of the property, while preserving the integrity of such a historical building. We will be installing all new furniture, plumbing, electric, insulation, carpet, ceiling fans, and flat screen televisions to provide our guests with the modern day luxuries and amenities. In regards to the bathroom, we are very sorry and disappointed that you encountered this. Cleanliness is a top priority of ours and we will certainly review your comments with our housekeeping management to ensure that this does not occur in the future. We truly hope that you will consider staying with us in the future to experience the upcoming changes firsthand.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £91 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing