We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

had a great 5 day stay at Casa Munras. The lobby area is nicely renovated... they leave cookies and apples out which was a charming touch. the restaurant on site has good food and a nice outside area with firepit. the grounds were well kept- blooming flowers and such. My room (basic queen I think) was clean and recently renovated as well. i found the staff to be very helpful and the location was nice too. It's within a short walk to Alvarado street and a stroll down this street to the Pier area. Also within a minute's walk was a deli that served great sandwiches and Trader Joes/Peets Coffee is close by too :)

It was much colder than I expected and I don't know who'd brave the chills to use the pool, but I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    521
    228
    96
    52
See reviews for
324
672
64
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Our third visit to Casa Munras and, as excpected, our stay was exceptional! The front desk staff are extremely helpful; the location is downtown Monterey, within walking distance to excellent restaruants, night life, Fisherman's Wharf and for the hearty, even Cannery Row; the pillow top beds are wonderful, the rooms are clean and cozy; the staff are extremely friendly and are willing to help and answer questions without hesitation. For the price and location, would not stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoothillTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed in the begining of the week, the staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was not big but quaint and comfy and the bed was full of pillows. The bathroom was also small but being tall the shower and the tub were great for tall people. We were in the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. We very much enjoyed the frieplace, would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisygrl-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Casa Munras was absolutely beautiful from the reservation deask to the restaurant. Staff is friendly and willing to go the extra mile. I was able to reserve an early check in and I actually got in much sooner thanks to David at the reservations. The grounds are beautiful and pool sparkeling clean. I could see that staff was out each morning cleaning it. Beds were comfortable and ceiling fans are a plus. Rooms are well maintained and the spa is a great addition after a long day on the beach or out shopping. I will definately be booking again for next months trip to the area. Parking is tight large trucks and Hummers may have proplems mine did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingmommma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Ca.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We booked two adjoining queen rooms which were very attractive and clean. The problem we encountered was that the rooms had no air conditioning and they became stuffy and very warm even though the outside temperature was in the 60's. To open the windows we had to move furniture and the shutters covering the windows. There was no other source of fresh air. The hotel did provide fans which we used continuously through the night. Also finding an electric outlet was a challenge. The room was quiet at night even though the windows were open. The hotel is in an excellent location. Two blocks away is a public transit hub with a free shuttle to the Monterey Aquarium. Also there are many restaurants within walking distance..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipomoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

the hotel staff made me feel very welcome from the time I walked in the door and checked in. The restaraunt Esteban's food and drinks were awesome, as was their service. My room was clean and very comfortable, with a nice fireplace and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey95112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We were in town for a conference and decided to stay at Casa Munras because it was much more reasonably priced than the accommodations that came with the conference.

The hotel itself is quite charming, especially for the price. The beds are comfortable and have the softness and feel of what you would expect to find at a $300+/night type of place. The room was spotless and we did not have any of the issues other reviewers have had. As far as the look of an old motel, well most of the hotels in the area look like that anyway, but the grounds alone were stunning. I could smell the gardenias in bloom from the floor below.

We brought our dog (dog-friendly hotel) and our toddler who loves to sleep in her “big girl” tent. There was plenty of room to set this up on the floor without it being in the way. There was no refrigerator, but guest services brought one up within 5 minutes of our request. The staff was very professional and friendly. As nice and clean as the hotel is, the best part about it is the central location. It is an easy walk to downtown, Trader Joe’s, the beach and the excellent Dennis the Menace park where the kid and the dog could exercise themselves to exhaustion. It is about a 15 min walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Also, the scenic bike/runner’s path that goes all along the shore and ties into the famous 17 Mile Drive is easily accessible from Casa Munras.

We had the excellent breakfast buffet one morning and were not charged for our toddler. Plus the cooked to order omelet was delicious and was included in the price with the buffet. Next time we’re in Monterey I will not think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing