We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 October 2009

It isn't exactly cheap but competitive against other places in Monterey. I was a bit concerned about the location initially but after walking down to the pier and Cannery Row, was glad we were further away.

The rooms were clean and well sized - we had a king size. The bar/restaurant was very nice and had great happy hour offers from 5-7pm. The breakfast also offered fairly good value.

Only thing letting this hotel down was the fact that it is in Monterey and I just didn't really think that much of Monterey as a place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murrayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel is a real find in the middle of a busy city. The room was spacious and the bathroom was wonderful with a huge walk in shower and a bathtub. It has obviously been remodeled recently. It has a beautiful swimming pool area and outside landscaping.

The staff was outstanding especially Alisha. They were more than willing to help you in any way. The only complaint was that there wasn't a small fridge.

Monterey is wonderful and this is so close to everything. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The pool is warm. Great for a morning swim. Esteban's has terrific cocktails to enjoy around the outside fire pit. Nice way to unwind at the end of the day. Cookies welcome you to the lobby at check-in and warm robes hang in your closet awaiting your arrival. We have stayed st Casa Munras on four or five occasions so far and will return again soon. Recommend highly!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whichwaytothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Spent one night and had a lovely king room in the main building with fire place and gorgeous bathroom. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and computers in the lobby were great for checking e-mail.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSFRANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Just wonderful service, food and accomodations.
Loved the little details.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My husband and I wanted to escape for a few days with our almost 3 year old daughter, and headed to Monterey. We stayed at Casa Munras and enjoyed a lovely stay.
The hotel offers a 2 day pass to the Aquarium, which is great (you can only stay so long with a toddler)! We enjoyed access to the town's FREE trolley that transported us back and forth to the aquarium. We didn't have to hassle the traffic which was a dream, parked and left our car safely in the hotel parking lot (FREE). We enjoyed two lovely afternoons lounging by the pool (which was nicely heated). Downtown Monterey is walking distance to the hotel as well as Fisherman's Wharf. Overall, the hotel is located in an ideal location. Our room was not huge, but definitely comfortable and clean for the 3 of us.

We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at Casa Munras in Monterey for three nights this summer and really wanted to recommend this to other travelers as we thought it was an excellent place to stay.

The staff is extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. The pool is gorgeous, a really good size and extremely clean. The hotel supplies towels at the pool side as well as fresh water.

The location of the hotel is very good as you can walk out and go shopping or walk to a lot of good restaurants. We actually visited Cannery Row both days (10 minte drive away) as there was a lot more going on here, but in the evening the hotel location is great for walking out for dinner.

The hotel supplies a DVD library for you to borrow from which we thought was a great service. Thy also provide little touches such as cookies in the foyer and an open fire in the lobby.

There is a spa attached to the hotel but we found this quite pricey. If you do fancy some treatments then there are much cheaper (but still great) places to go to on the main road. As you walk into the town area you will come accross some places on the way.

We definitely would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Monterey.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyForeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TIG Global, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing