We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbar & Grill

Sandbar & Grill
Ranked #18 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

At the recommendation of the local visitors center, we visited the Sandbar and Grill for dinner. Even though we did not have a reservation they were able to accommodate a group of six adults and a 2 year old. We had a variety of seafood including oysters, scallops, calamari, mussels, salmon and Ahi tuna. All the food was wonderful and the service was delightful. We look forward to visiting the Sandbar and Grill again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJTDJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    167
    39
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view of wharf area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had dinner here one night in June and were delighted in the very fresh seafood. I had a large crab salad and the crab was fresh and cooked to perfection! Tender, sweet and succulent. The mixed grill of fried seafood was also enjoyed at our table. Though it's best to make reservations, they do take walk-ins for dinner, but it might be a bit of a wait. You could hear the sealion's barking under the pier and locals still fish off the pier too. It can be a bit hard to find as it is below the main deck level of the pier, but look for the white sign with blue writing and go down the stairs for some great seafood!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food + beautiful view = joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A quaint restaurant hidden under the Wharf 2. Highly recommended by our front office at the Travelodge. Tables by the window offer gorgeous view overlooking the little boats melting away with the sun at dusk is a wonder. The prawns, fish and pasta dishes ordered were really fresh and tasteful, the service was friendly first class. Witnessing glees and smiles of the customers enjoying their food was a great delight. The food serving is enough to filled the stomach comfortably. Definitely worth for the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustEcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We had a little getaway with our teenagers this weekend. It's hard to accommodate everyone's tastes!!! After a dirty hotel and an average but very expensive dinner the night before, we just wanted some really good fish and chips. The wait was shorter than we were told which was lovely, the fish and chips were amazing, the chowder was awesome and we really enjoyed our meal. The staff was attentive and we liked the less touristy location. We could watch the boats in the harbor and we got to watch a sea otter frolic in the water while we ate. It was very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Wonderful Views, Professional Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Dinner was very very good. We tried the Sand Dabs and Calamari were both good. You are right on the water. My family loved it. Good for families and couples. Staff was professional and good. Locals love the place and we can see why.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonlbsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sandbar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing