We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dinner recommended by the best waiter!”

Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink
Reserve with OpenTable
Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canyon Del Ray
Description: Enjoy our gourmet Monterey Beach restaurant with your own "window on the bay". For a truly unique dining experience, escape to the Cafe Beach Restaurant; a remote, romantic retreat so serene that the hypnotic sounds of the pounding surf can only be broken by the clink of toasting glasses and a feast of fresh seasonal dishes are served. Enter the dining room, where windows frame a living landscape of unspoiled beaches.
Reviewed 27 December 2013

12/27/2013...Christmas Trip with my granddaughter. Stayed at the Sand Dunes, Best Western which we love. had dinner in the Cafe Beach Restaurant. Server was Joaquin Benitez....very informed, very personable. We took his recommendations, and the Sea Bass was awesome, as was everything else he recommended. loved our dinner, loved our waiter, and we will definitely eat here again. Thanks to Joaquin, and Hello to Mrs. Joaquin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gmatubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Views from the windows is spectacular. Dolphins were playing in surf in front of us. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Our meals were delicious and presentation was beautiful. Would dine here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nanajanx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Where is the place in the picture on the website? There's this gorgeous picture of tables and chairs along the sand dunes at ground level, with wood beams in between the tables. Everything in this picture looks updated including the tables and pictures.

I'm new to the area, in search of beautiful places to eat like the one in the picture. I went to the hotel in search of the restaurant in the picture. The Cafe Beach Restaurant is on the 4th floor - the lobby bar is definitely not it. Nothing looked updated. It's true that the hotel has an incredible view, but in an incredibly outdated building. Query potential false advertising issues....? Or is it somewhere I didn't look?

We may go back for food in the cafe beach restaurant and I'll update my review for food then. Until then, I'll be disappointed over the mismatch between the picture on the website and the actual restaurant.

2  Thank KKanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear KKanoe,
We are in the process of making improvements to many areas of the property - we hope to be able to welcome you back to the property very soon, and look forward to your review of the food & service in Café Beach.

Thank you,
PS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Taking Trip Advisor's reviews and website photos at face value, I was really looking forward to a special anniversary dinner booked in advance for the Cafe Beach Restaurant. Granted it was Labor Day weekend and kids in bathing suits were running all over unsupervised around the elevators around the entrance, but we had hope when the spectacular views of the water were visible while being led to our table. Joaquin B was our server and took great care of us - even brought us out a special anniversary cake and candle. We had the sampler appetizer to start off. The calamari was good; unfortunately. the crab on toasted baguette was soggy and tasted like it was fresh out of a can. The BLTA salad (aka expensive wedge salad) was slightly less than average. We took Joaquin's recommendation for the Sea Bass and it was, indeed, delicious. This place could be- should be- phenomenal with the views it has, but it sadly misses the mark on ambiance and quality for the price it charges. A linen tablecloth, candle, and recipe revisions would be a great help. Servers like Joaquin deserve better restaurant quality.

2  Thank Trneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear TRNuemann,

Thank you for choosing Café Beach for your special occasion. I also appreciate hearing ideas for improvement from our guests. It is where most good ideas come from.

We will discuss opportunities with Chef Jose & our management team . . . we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The food was amazing, my husband and I ate forth entire 7 day stay and we honestly did not have one bad meal including appetizers.

1  Thank DeeDee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear DeeDeeB,
Thank you so much for your patronage, as well as your kind words.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink also viewed

Seaside, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Seaside, Monterey County
 

Been to Vizcaino Waterfront Food + Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing