We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monterey Fireside Lodge
Ranked #54 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
“Great Service”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed in the Fireside Lodge for 9 days. I must admit that the hotel is old and in need of remodeling. However, throughout my traveling over the past four years, I can't remember a place where the staff was as hospitable as the staff at the Fireside Lodge; They were excellent, friendly and willing to assist on any matter. Fresh fruit was provided each day coupled with great advice on places to eat and see while in town. The Fireside Lodge felt more like a bread and breakfast rather than a lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTEX42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    10
    7
    31
See reviews for
4
33
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My husband and I went to Monterey/Carmel for the weekend but had not booked a hotel room yet. After driving around for an hour we came upon Fireside Lodge. My husband went inside and talked with the owner and came back and said " This is where we're staying". The owner came out to the car and greeted me, she was VERY pleasant. She offered us two nights stay for a VERY reasonable price. Without looking at the rooms we said YES! Once we saw the rooms we were very satisfied. Fireplace, two beds, nice size bathroom, tv/cable, small kitchen area, clean rooms and fresh linen. When we got settled into our room the owner walked aroun the property hand picking her fresh flowers and brought us a flower arrangement to our room. By the time our weekend stay was over thr flower arrangement had bloomed beautifully. WE LOVED Monterey Fireside Lodge and can't wait to go back in September for the Jazz Festival weekend!!! Thank you Fireside Staff !

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLa0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Affordable, immaculate, spacious, pet permit (small fee), and the most gracious hostess.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWilly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

A wonderful family operated hotel to stay and conveniently located near the beach, wharf and down town Monterey. The fact that they welcome dogs is definitely a plus plus. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and roomy with a fenced in patio. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamiandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

This motel is very dated, with no attempt to modernize. Threadbare, cigarette-burned blankets, no real decor. Office hours posed at 9am to 10pm, however both mornings we were there office wasn't open by 9, which seems very late to open the front desk. No network TV channels available to watch news or GMA or Today show in the morning. Terrible lighting over bath vanity. Good points were convenient, quiet location, comfortable beds, cleanliness, nice landscaping, micro & refrig. We felt that the price for Sat. night was out of sight, considering the quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanTCalif_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

California
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I was looking for a deal for 1 night stay for next year's Red Bull moto GO in July. Used their website and got a room for $129 Satuday only. They called later to tell me the room was available for $149 per night and a 2 night minimum. All of that would have been reasonable if on their website, kit wasn't! they are crooks. They didn;t want to try and deal just said it was the busiest weekend of the year and those were the rates. I told them to cancel my reservation and that they better fix their web site to reflect the pricing and minimum stay. Do not patronize this place!!! BAD NEWS!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The place is dirty and rundown. The carpets are stained, there are marks on the wall, and the owners have obviously not spent much on maintenance for 20 years. When we complained about the unit, the owner gave us another room (same size) that was in a little better shape, but CHARGED US $50 MORE! The bed was old, lumpy and hard. The “fireplace” was gas with a trickle of flame through fake logs. There was no iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and no dishes or silverware, other than a few items left by previous guests, even though the unit had a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elhawk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#40 of 55 in Monterey
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#32 of 55 in Monterey
544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Fireside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Fireside Lodge

Property: Monterey Fireside Lodge
Address: 1131 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Monterey Fireside Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Fireside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Fireside Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing