We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood meal with good deal!”
Review of Crabby Jim's

Crabby Jim's
Ranked #88 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good seafood meal with good deal!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

When walking at the Fishermans Wharf, there were many seafood restaurants to choose from. I find that it was such a good idea that many restaurants gave some simple of their seafood chowder so that I could judge which one had a good chef/cook.

Crabby Jim's was one of the best seafood chowder I have tasted in that street. Their price was reasonable and with a free dish of appetizer on offer, I went for it. Turned out they had done a fine job. The appetizer (deep fried calamari) was excellent, both fish dishes we ordered were tasty and the portion size was good. The cocktails was really nice and not too expensive. It was a bit of the chilly night but we sat by the fire so we both felt warm. We really enjoyed our meal and it was easily the best dinner we had during our especial US trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    138
    71
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good appetizers”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

No wait for party of six, even on Memorial Day. The place was packed! We had appetizers and meals. Calamari was ok. Nothing write home about. Fried artichoke appetizer was better than the calamari. Clam chowder was delicious. The garlic bread was everyone's favorite- and it was even better when we dipped it in the soup! Fish n chips was pretty good. (The fries look like they came right out of the freezer.). The kids cheeseburger was huge and was hand formed. It was really good. We would definitely recommend and we would definitely come back!

Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaL974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On the pier”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Clam chowder was divine and what drew us into the restaurant! Had the yummiest scallops which were cooked perfectly :) the whole party had a nice meal. Could look out the pier and see sea otters which topped off the experience. Definitely one to visit if into sea food

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank x-sb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

A place to eat for sure!! The clam chowder was amazing and the service was awesome. The free calamari was yummy and the sea view was amazing. The waiter recommended some great food and the Pinot Grigio house wine was the best I've ever tasted. Well worth a visit!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lawryg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprised us, nice place”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We were in a hurry because we had to catch a boat for whale watching. Other places had no free tables. We had a table with a very nice view. Ordered a american burger and told the waiter we didn't have much time. Very friendly guy. There was some calamari on the house for starter. Our burgers came out really quickly and were surprisingly good!! We're felt sorry to be in such a hurry! It would have bin nice to have more time to enjoy our meal!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindadelaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crabby Jim's also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crabby Jim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing